Another day at Mombasa


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Coast Province » Mombasa
January 30th 2010
Published: January 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

January 30, 2010:

Today has been a second quiet day at the beach. I'm finally finding a little peace after the going to and fro between game parks (with hectic times in between Massai Mara (Kenya) -- Ngorongoro Crater (Tanzania: one long trip) and back to Nairobi, and then on to Ambroseli (6-7 hours each way) and back to Nairobi, and then, finally, here at Mombasa.

I've found the traveling rather hectic and am comfortable having landed for a bit here at Mombasa. (I'm staying at the Serena hotel/lodge). It is peaceful and quiet here. The breeze off the Indian Ocean is warm and soothing (although the sun, once the clouds burn off in the morning is hot!). I've decided to stay an extra day -- instead of going home tomorrow, we'll go back to Nairobi on Monday (here -- remember we're 8 hours ahead of you). Peace doesn't mean the end of grieving, but here, by the ocean, I feel kissed by nature.

The entire trip has opened my eyes to unexpected experiences. And, beside, 32-34C sure beats -24C. I am thinking of you. A month is a long time. I'm looking forward to returning home and seeing you.

P.S.
There's another market shot for Karen; Kazuri potter for Diane and Tim, and Elephants especially for Eleonora. But I hope that each of you enjoys all the pix.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Elephants, AmboseliElephants, Amboseli
Elephants, Amboseli

When we were in Maasai Mara, we saw an elephant family even closer. One left the group (others surrounding a baby) and came toward the trail. It charged the car. My photo is on the other disc, only half an out-of-focus head!
Mount KilamanjaroMount Kilamanjaro
Mount Kilamanjaro

from Amboseli, looking into Tanzania
Full moon behind palmsFull moon behind palms
Full moon behind palms

January 29, Mombasa
Mombasa beachMombasa beach
Mombasa beach

Serena lodge/hotel
Ponies on the beachPonies on the beach
Ponies on the beach

The camel was still walking up and down (and two others walked along with a man to the beach, walked into the water near the reef and laid down). No fences here.


30th January 2010

Reading your blog and storing up lots of questions for your return. It is very out of our experience and sounds very busy. Glad you had a little time to sit. ML
31st January 2010

GRANDMA!!!
Hi Grandma. I have been following your blog. Seems like an amazing trip! I think about what it's like for you in Africa very often. I'm glad that you are blogging it all, sharing your step-by-step experience with us all. Missing you! xoxo Haley.
31st January 2010

great news
It's such a relief to hear from you. Your letters and pix are great, Kathryn. When a few days passed w/o any news I was beginning to wonder. I guess you were just on the road and not able to access a computer. I am busy planning my odyssey to Mexico and points beyond. All travel is booked and I'm researching as fast as I can what to see and do in each place. It's a lot of work planning it all on my own! Just got back from babysitting two grandsons for the wkend. I'm tired but very satisfied. They were so good, and cute, of course. Your trip is looking absolutely fabulous. I'm envious. I understand your need for a couple of days of quiet down time. Enjoy the rest of your journey (in more ways than one). Much love, PC

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb