First full day in Mombassa...more pix


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Coast Province » Mombasa
January 29th 2010
Published: January 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

January 29, 2010: My first full day in Mombasa has been wonderful. Paul and Esther wanted to meet a friend and also go downtown. I chose to stay on the beach. I have had few minutes by myself, let alone a full day. It was good to just walk the white sands, although the "beach boys" constantly want to talk you into buying something! They remembered me from last night, saying: "You were with a Kenya family. Why are you alone? You shouldn't be alone! Let's talk." Believe it or not, I actually went in the pool and got wet; it became very hot after this morning's cloud cover and misty rain. But I liked the beach best. This afternoon, Paul and Esther joined me (they swam in the pool) and we walked the beach again. Tonight I'm red but not sore, so I'm hoping tomorrow my skin will be brown. I'm hoping for another quiet day tomorrow.

I don't know how frequently I'll be able to stay in touch once I'm back in Nairobi, but the internet cafe at the Serena hotel has been a godsend.

I hope that you are all well. Thinking of you. The trip has held many surprises that I'll tell you about when I return home. As you might guess, escaping isn't possible, but this is a country of friendly people and my hosts are good people. Love you all.


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Robert/Ole, MaasaiRobert/Ole, Maasai
Robert/Ole, Maasai

He volunteers at the local health clinic and studies (funds for the Maasai scarce)
AmboseliAmboseli
Amboseli

This young man talked with me while waiting for Paul at the gate at the lodge.


29th January 2010

Kazuri beads!
Hi Kathryn: You're having such a rich and exotic time. Love the pic of you and the warriors. Interesting to see the making of the Kazuri beads. Thanks for making the effort and keeping us posted.
29th January 2010

great
Pics were great so glad you can keep in touch love you Donna
2nd February 2010

Your Beach Day
I am not sure if you get to see the comments. There appear to be several from others but they are not visible at this end. This is wonderful way for you to share your blog. Technology certainly does have its advantages. Your photos will tell such a story when you return home. I cannot imagine the lifestyles that you are being exposed to and the different dialects. Spending a day at the beach would be so soothing. You must be feeling like you are healing and becoming restored.

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb