Just Another Day


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Legon
October 22nd 2008
Published: October 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

It's a normal, busy week over here. I somehow manage to stay up too late every night, so I'm always sleepy- but that's nothing new.

I'm off to Joshua's in a few minutes, but I thought I'd write a quick update first.

Sunday was very quiet. I just hung out with USAC friends and ate and read and laid around.

Monday was simple but really nice. I got up early, photocopied my ballot (so I have a copy of my vote for Obama), went to the airport post office, and submitted my vote. I was very excited about it. And it was fun finding my way to the post office and making people laugh every time I said "thank you" in Twi.

I came back to campus, had lunch, and went to Joshua's. Joshua's dad is gone all week I found out, so that's nice. It was just me, Daniel, Michael, the cook (I need to get her name), and one of Joshua's sisters.

Class in the evening, followed by cooking/eating dinner with Biano.

Tuesday was Twi followed by failed attempts to log onto e-mail followed by lunch and class. Then Holly and I took a trotro to Shoprite. We had trouble catching a trotro on the way back (rush hour) so we took a taxi back and then Holly, Aqui (Holly's boyfriend- lives down the hall from us, from Mozambique originally, a lawyer, writing his dissertation here this semester), Biano, and I had a double date dinner in Aqui's room (he has a single and a hotplate). We made a veggie burger and three chicken burgers, plus fries and some veggies (with ice cream for dessert). It was really nice.

I should have gone to bed after that but instead I found my friends and ended up staying up to the very end with Eric (the good seamstress came so a group was in with her, and somehow Eric was the last to stay and got roped into helping her carry her things out which meant waiting until about 12midnight for her to finish packing up). Anyway, Eric and I had fun chatting and deflecting Adwoa (the seamstress's) "Are you a Christian?" Fortunately, only a little bit of the conversation was god related. It's always fun to try to explain "agnostic" and "atheist" to people. They are often unfamiliar with those terms here.

That brings us to today. Seven AM Twi class after five hours of sleep. Fortunately, Jen (my roommate) woke me up since I slept through all three of my alarms (my watch alarm isn't that loud- next time I need to use my phone). And now I'm off to Joshua's followed by a trip into town with Rachel and Holly for some shopping and maybe a meal out.

Have a good day! 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb