Yep, time is officially flying.


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Legon
October 14th 2008
Published: October 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I can't believe it's already been a week since last I wrote! It's starting to feel like a normal semester in that time is somehow just flying by. I'm definitely getting into some routines (class, Josh, etc.), so that's part of it. Plus, I've been getting some more homework assignments and things. I had my first history test yesterday (not hard but not what I expected so I don't know how I did). I went into school Anna mode for about 24hrs and just studied and needed my space and chewed my lip. But then last night after the test I did my reading for Qur'anic Studies and made some amazing pasta with cabbage and cheese for dinner at like 9pm. To top it all off, I played Jungle Speed until midnight with friends (American, of course) in one of the ISH kitchens, so it ended up being a really nice night in.

The readings for Qur'anic Studies have been fascinating me, for the record. The focus has been on the Qur'an and science, so the chapters and essays we are looking at deal with the authenticity of the Qur'an as the word of God but from a modern historical/scientific perspective. In other words, they acknowledge things like evolution and archeology and biology but claim that the Qur'an provides data on all of those topics. I know that probably sounds familiar to most of you, but when you look at the specific examples (the passages in the Qur'an that are interpreted as scientifically based) and compare them to the scientific knowledge at the time, it's pretty interesting. I want to learn more about it. And I'm not being very articulate. Anyone who is interested, feel free to borrow my readings when I get home in December and then we can have a real conversation.

On the god front: the Qur'an is sounding better than the Bible. I'm pissed that Togo Daniel who works with Joshua says prophetically that I am a Christian (as in that is the bright future he sees even though I'm not there yet). I told him I'm probably agnostic or atheist with the slightest chance of becoming a Quaker, but most likely agnostic or atheist. When last we parted, we (by which I mean I) decided that next time (tomorrow) when I go to Joshua's we won't talk about religion anymore- only food (the other thing we talk a lot about). I like that plan a lot more. 😊

Let's see, what else...
I'm wearing my new outfit. I bought the cloth at Kaneshie market a few weeks ago, dropped it off at a seamstress, got overcharged (and it wasn't exactly what I wanted, but whatever I still like it), and am now looking like an obruni Ghanaian-impersonator. For the record, students on campus dress very nicely and very Western. There are occasionally people in traditional dress (mostly older adults) but most students wear what we would wear in the states (but even nicer- collared shirts and dress clothes compared to our pjs and sweats to class)- including long pants and jeans. I don't know how they do it.

I think I'm going to try my hand at making redred tonight. I was going to go to the market but I don't think I want to put in the effort. I'm feeling tired. Freaking out about my test (because I was studying at the last minute like always) tired me out yesterday/Sunday.

I need to buy phone minutes so I can call my friends. Make that friend. Daniel (student from Upper East) remains my only Ghanaian friend that I hang out with. I have a few acquaintances now, though, so I'm working on it. I don't always know what to make of people here; I got a text from Daniel yesterday that said "Hi, I wish you well in all you do. Have a good day!" I was out of minutes and didn't know what to say- lucky coincidence- so I didn't say anything.

Oh, I went to a really bad play last week. It was Agatha Christie's Witness for the Prosecution and there were only two actors that really impressed me. I think one of the lawyers was using his script on his desk for whenever he forgot his lines. It was bad, but there were a few good eggs.

My back is sore from spinning Joshua yesterday. You can't deny an autistic child interaction when they're actually initiating it, but sometimes I wish I could change the game (after the 100th spin, at least). 😊

I better go back to ISH to grab my readings before I'm late for Qur'anic Studies. Have a good day (days, week, we'll see...).

Also, to all those whose birthdays I missed or will be missing: HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!
I'm sorry it isn't arriving on the right day, but it's the thought that counts, right Christopher Robin?

Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0363s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb