Back in the Swing of Things


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Legon
October 7th 2008
Published: October 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I had my first Twi test this morning. The professor is a little crazy and made me a bit nervous about format (he got all upset with Mike for not formatting responses like we were taught to on the homework but the directions on the test didn't say anything about that format so I did the same thing as Mike and just wrote out the answers without rewriting all the questions- our professor is a little nuts but maybe we're just not familiar with the system) so that was annoying but not a big deal. I think I did well. Meresua Twi seesei. (I am learning Twi now.)

Yesterday afternoon was awesome. I went to Joshua's and got more eye contact than I EVER have before from him. I don't know if he was just having a good day or what but, despite being exclusive a lot of the time, he made a ton of eye contact in the beginning and middle of the hour I was in the playroom. While I was in the room, Joshua's dad left so I only had to see him for a few minutes (yay!). When I came out, Daniel (one of the guys working with Joshua- from Togo where his Ghanaian mother, Togolese father, and four or five siblings live) and I talked for about a half an hour. It was really fun and relaxing. I don't know how to repeat some of the things Daniel said without making them sound distasteful to the agnostic/atheist side of things but he said that he knew he would visit the U.S. one day and was talking about preaching to "you people" (us Americans). I think I would get a kick out of seeing what would happen if he really did visit the U.S. With all of the god talk here, I can get annoyed, but his personality and wording were such that it was actually a fun conversation. (Just for the record, there is student Daniel from Upper East and then there is "works with Joshua" Daniel from Togo- both are Daniel but they are in fact two people.)

I got stopped by another annoying Ghanaian guy yesterday walking back to the trotro from Joshua's. I gave him my old e-mail address; we'll see if he writes. I always pretend I don't have a phone in those situations (and pray it doesn't ring while we're talking). And I didn't run into the SDA taxi driver who wants to marry me, so that's good. But I did meet a guy who has seen me around the theater department (or so he says) which caught me off guard, but he was the classic annoying you're beautiful/ how will I see you again Ghanaian guy. I really haven't encountered that many situations like that so far, this past weekend just saw a string of those guys for some reason.

I used the Circle hand signal for the first time yesterday and successfully got a trotro going towards Legon to pull over! It was very exciting. I've been wary of using the signals but I saw someone do it the last time I took the trotro back so I figured I'd copy exactly what he did. And it worked! (All you do is point your wrist down and move it in little circles for a trotro going to Circle station.)

It poured just as I was getting home. It was nice because it cooled everything off. Then I went to my 5:30pm history class only to find that the teacher canceled class so she could go to the doctor (something with her eye). We still have a test next week that I'm a bit nervous about because we didn't have yesterday's class to find out what it will be like and she's given us at least a hundred pages in printed notes, probably more. Fortunately, I was talking with another student, Clara, on the field trip and she's really nice and the female class prefect so I got her number yesterday and I'll call later this week with the hope of finding a time to meet at the Balme Library (the library on campus) so I can find out what to expect on an essay test here. Yikes.

No plans yet for this weekend. The week should be good, though. I'll go for pizza (two-for-one) with some obrunis tonight. Tomorrow I have two classes with Joshua's in between. Thursday is two more classes and our first USAC cake and ice cream party (I can't wait)! Friday is the start of my weekend. I'll either start by going to Joshua's for the group meeting at 10am or else I'll make travel plans for the weekend and leave first thing.

Keep e-mailing me! I miss you guys! December 13th is too far away and way too close all at the same time! <3

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb