Monday Morning Update


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Legon
October 7th 2008
Published: October 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Dear All,

I seem to have accidentally started two blogs, one with travelblog.org and one with travelblog.com. Let's just say that doing anything on the internet here can take a while so you stop and start and forget which e-mails actually went through and which ones never sent. This is the entry I wrote yesterday but posted to travelblog.com rather than here. Enjoy!

It's Monday morning and I'm getting back into the swing of things after a lazy weekend. It is getting HOT. The past two months have been more like a Massachusetts summer (warm but only really bad in the direct sun with a nice breeze the majority of the time) but the past few days have been really warm. We haven't been feeling very motivated as a result. Yesterday four of us USAC folks went to an air-conditioned coffee shop at the mall to study Twi (we have a test tomorrow; I need to work on memorizing the numbers).

It was a quiet weekend with more American than Ghanaian accents for me. Friday was also quiet but at least I got out a bit. I went to Joshua's in the morning and ended up being there for about four hours: I watched Daniel and then Joshua's father work with Joshua, then we had a group meeting, then I worked with Joshua for about 20min, and then they fed my fried plantains with ketchup and a plate of fresh pawpaw (someone ate my vegetarian redred, apparently). I stopped by a seamstress on my way home and got measured for a matching top and skirt (a more traditional Ghanaian outfit). I also got my first marriage proposal; one of the taxi drivers at SDA Junction wants to marry me. We'll see if he is there/ remembers when I go back to Joshua's (via SDA). After that I just checked e-mail and went back to the hostel for a nap, dinner, and hanging out with USAC folks. So nothing too eventful at the moment. Everything is molding in the dorms. I dropped my sheets (and a bunch of clothes) off to be washed this morning; they were starting to smell moldy. It's kind of disgusting. Other than that, I'm good. I'll have some adventures and write more in the coming weeks, I promise. :-)

Love you all and missing fall!
Anna 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0198s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb