The weekend


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Accra
October 12th 2008
Published: October 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey all, I've gone to the capital for the weekend! Its been quite eventful - i accidentally deleted all of my photos from my camera, so i didn't know whether i was going to scream or cry, but i did neither. I could only think at least it happened now and not a week before i come home! Then yesterday i went to use my card at an ATM machine and it decided to retain my card! So had a major panic but think i have got an action plan to sort that out!

But on the good side, on Friday i was missing luxury as for most of the week in the village has had a power cut, so we've had no electricitySo me and a girl called Zoe from my village decided to go to Accra and go to a 5 star hotel and paid 10 cedi, equilvalent of 5 pounds to sit round the pool for the day! It was sooo nice! I also treated myself to chips and a sandwhich, which believe me was heaven!!

Then we did a bit of shopping around a crafts market which was good, but got so much hassle and when you want to buy something it takes so long as you have to barter and it takes sooo long!

But in the afternoon, we walked past a football stadium and thought theres a lot of people there, so maybe there is a game today. So we went over to see and it was an African cup of Nations qualifier between Togo and Swaziland. It was 2 cedi, so 1 pound for a ticket, so we decided to go. It was brillaint we were right next to a group of fans who had trumpets, drums etc and the played music and danced none stop all game. It was brilliant. The football wasn't bad either, Togo won 6-0!

I go back to my village today, but im moving projects to an orphange and get a new host family on Friday, so I will update you on how that goes.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb