The move!


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Ashanti » Kumasi
October 20th 2008
Published: October 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

hey all,

On friday I moved to kumasi which is about 4 hours away from where I was previously staying! Its the second biggest city in Ghana, so the bank and a supermarket which sells Mars bars and twix is only a short Tro-Tro ride away!

My new host family are really nice, theres Aunty B (my host mum), Prince (my host brother) and also Aufay (another host brother). There is also two other volunteers staying there, one from holland and one from germany, they are both really nice and making me feel very welcome. The house I live in is very big and in a small village outside Kumasi called Asabi.

Today I had my first day at the orphange. It is very big with 105 children! Well 104 as Collins got adopted today!! It has several different units, the boys unit, the girls, nursery, pre-school, home unit, so I'm going to try and get round a few to see which I like best. Today i worked in the grils unit with all the babies! The youngest was only 2 weeks old and was soo tiny! I had to feed her, but they don't use bottles so i had to feed her with a cup, which was a very messy job! The children are all adorable! I also met a 65 year old volunteer who is from Swadlincote and her nieces son was in my form at school so realised its such a small world!

When i went for a tour i noticed there were so many disabled children who crawl on the floor and also serveral have disabilites and treated terribly! So when you go up to them and smile and give them a hug they are soo hapy as they are not used to attention! So I feel like I can do a lot to help here, unlike at the school where I was often twiddling my thumbs! I definately want to try and do some teaching with some of the older children when they are back from school.

I can't wait to go back there tomorrow and see all the children again!

Advertisement



22nd October 2008

happ for you
hi my love this was really nice to hear about the orphanage and sound wonderful for you. glad it is all good :-) love you lots x x x

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.047s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb