Going through the Motions


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Accra
April 20th 2008
Published: April 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello Everyone, I hope this post finds you all well.
This last week proved to be a bit stressful. I assumed that my previous weekend of travel would recharge me, however, due to my menstrual cycle, two midterms, and getting drenched in torrential downpour every other day, I started this week with a flare up of homesickness.
Even though I absolutely love Ghana and wouldn't change this experience for anything, it's the little things from home I miss. Things like making cooking with my mother, having dinner-table conversations with my family, and taking hot showers and not starting to sweat immediately afterward tug at my heart-strings sometimes.
This past week a few students' parents came to visit. This also reminded me of how much I miss my family and made me realize what a large part of my life they are. It was interesting, however, to see the dynamics between child and parent. It was a complete role reversal. The students were taking care of their parents, showing them around, making sure they tried the local food, received a proper tro tro ride, explained the concepts of bartering and being called an oburoni, as well as helping them deal with their own culture shock.
A particularly fun encounter was Stevie's 21st birthday party on Monday night. A bunch of us gathered at one of the homestay houses and ate tons of food, enjoyed performances done by the adorable girls that lived in the house, and danced the night away. Stevie's father was visiting from Santa Monica, Ca and seemed to be enjoying watching his daughter grow up right before his eyes. He was trying all the food, conversing with everyone and even joined us all on the dance floor. It was plain to see that he wanted to get to know all of Stevie's friends and I think that by the end of his trip he felt comfortable knowing that she is well taken care of here with a huge support network.
As the week came to an end, I too began to realize that I as well have an amazing support network of not only friends and family at home, but a huge circle of friends and housemates here that take care of me all the time.
After the stress of homesickness and midterms, Lizzy and I retreated to the pool for some R&R. At the Shangri La Hotel pool, it was the perfect day for relaxing and people watching, one of my favorite activities. Among the Ghanaians that dotted the complex, there was an Indian family of five, a young German couple, two American bachelors, an old British man in a Speedo who seemed to be stuck in the 1960's by the look of his rose tinted sunglasses and faded psychedelic bandana, as well as a group of teenage Brits who seemed to be on some sort of guided "holiday."
As the sun rose high in the sky and proceeded to bake me to a crisp, Lizzy worked hard to finish her 14th book of the trip. The German couple sporadically took dips in the pool, alternatively tanning their extremely European accessorized bodies. The wife of the Indian family sat by in her conservative yet beautiful pink sari and watched as her husband played with their gorgeous toddler in the pool, meanwhile two older boys of the family showed their lack of swimming knowledge as they flailed by splashing Lizzy and I a dozen times.
The old British man thought it best to flirt with the woman in charge of the program of teenagers, while the teenagers themselves were doing back-flips and cannonballs into the pool trying to impress their peers of the opposite sex. On the other side of the complex the two American bachelors seemed to be trying to flirt with anything that passed by, even making eyes at Lizzy and I for a few brief moments, while the Ghanainas, most of whom cannot swim and are afraid of the deep end, waded in the shallow water.
When we decided to wrap up our afternoon in the sun, I realized that I was thoroughly sunburned and raced home for a cold shower and some aloe vera. After soothing my parched and red skin, I ate dinner while my housemates informed me that I am now that Ghanaians call "oburoni koko" literally meaning "red-white person." Then Lindsey came over with her DVD player and while the boys disappeared, our group of sappy girls settled in and watched Steel Magnolias. By the end of the movie we were all sobbing and telling each other how much we missed our mothers. Finally the exhaustion of the week caught up with me and I retreated into the comfort of my clean sheets which I had washed this week.
Now that my mood has finally elevated and my hormones have relinquished control over my emotions, I'm hoping that this upcoming week will prove less stressful as we prepare for our next CIEE trip to the Northern Region of Ghana.
As always, thanks so much for reading!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb