Purchase, City transport, Telecommunication


Advertisement
Gabon's flag
Africa » Gabon » West » Libreville
July 9th 2011
Published: December 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Libreville on coastLibreville on coastLibreville on coast

This was taken from the west coast of Libreville
I waked up with a one-hour time difference. I decided to get out. I was a little bit worried by the new environment about the security without doubt. Finally I got a city tour with my first guide: Michelle.



Transport:

There’re not buses or trams in the city. But “taxi” is the main public transport. You can share the taxi with the other people or you can make a “course” that means the taxi driver will just take you on board. The starting minimum fare is only 100 F CFA. But attention, because the “taximan” can tell the tourist from the citizens, and they’ll ask much more than it should be. Never should you put a doubt if your proposition is so low, they are always greedy. I can’t give you more advice, but if you want, I would say 100 FCFA for 5 minutes’ drive.



Telecommunication:

There are four telecommunication operators. Most people have more than one cellphone number. The most popular operator is Airtel. Buy a SIM card, charge the number and you can call anywhere you want. The telecommunication price is not so expensive. I charged 5000F on
sunrise on airsunrise on airsunrise on air

The sunrise, view form board
my cellphone, and I had about 40 minutes’ communication. What’s more is almost everyone in Gabon has a cellphone. On the contrary rare persons have a fix number. When you buy a cellphone, you should mind your choice. Because a large number of telephones are made in China whit an unbelievably poor quality! Almost are counterfeiting! You can easily find Blackberry, Nokia even IPhone on the street market.



Purchase:

In Libreville, there are several big supermarkets like MBOLO, Géant CKD etc. The price is relatively expensive, because of the lack of supplies. Almost all the farm produces are imported by the nearby countries. Next blog I’m going to talk about the shopping at street market.



This day was finished by flying my kite on the beach. I was really cool when the weather was good. To tell the truth, the sea was not so clean in Libreville.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

MichelleMichelle
Michelle

My first guide, Michelle.
Over the beachOver the beach
Over the beach

I was at Point Denis


Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0468s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb