Marché Mont Bouet, Sabière


Advertisement
Gabon's flag
Africa » Gabon » West » Libreville
July 10th 2011
Published: December 25th 2011
Edit Blog Post

typical housetypical housetypical house

as you see, Libreville has also a lot of poor people
This morning I went to the biggest market of Gabon: Marché Mont Bouet.

After 20 minutes’ drive, I was driven to the Petit Paris. Comparing with the Chinese street market in the 1990s, this market is much more than disorder. So many people were around me that I worried about my security and, of course, my bag. I didn’t dare to take any photos.

This market is really big. Many shops sell Chinese manufacturing products. It seemed the market in my hometown in my childhood. I just felt that I got in a time machine, but the faces were not the same. I bought a small gift for my friend, because it was her birthday. I knew her when we were in France. This friend gave me a lot of help when I was I Libreville. The blacks were not polite. When I passed through the market, they shouted “Come here Chinese”, they even took my hand to catch my attention. I was not familiar with this at first. In the end, when I wanted get out, I got lost. I was getting in a narrow street, calm. I made a semi turn when I felt a little bit dangerous. Thanks to God, I was not robbed.

Doris, my friend, came to pick me up for her birthday. We went to a famous beach in the North Libreville, called La Sabière.

It felt a little cold. Yes, in central Africa it feels cold in July and August. Because there’s neither summer nor winter. But there’re dry season and rainy season. July and August are the dry season. During this season, there’s no rain. When I say “no rain” that means there isn’t any rain drop all over the country. But it feels cold. The average temperature is about 27.

Turn back to my story. A guy came to rock the boat and make troubles with me when he saw a Chinese was surrounded many girls. I was cowardly hidden behind the girls. Anyway, the guy was driven away in the end. When we finished our party, the night fell already.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb