Cairo, Egypt


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt
July 9th 2010
Published: July 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello America and how was your last 3 days been cause mine have been FREAKING AMAZING lol
Hey guys hope all is well back home with all of you. I landed now 3 days ago and the time has flown bye I cant believe how interesting this place is, I took off July 6th at 12:41pm from LAX got through security real fast and just relaxed and got my book ready for along trip to the desert. My first flight was not bad I landed in Heathrow airport (London) after a 9 hour flight , which was an hour faster then expected,. It wasn’t bad either cause I watched 4 movies on the plane it was money, I got to see The Green Zone Toy Story 2 Diary of a Wimpy Kid and Bounty Hunter, so it wasn’t too bad. then had a 3 hour layover In which I found out how cool the blackberry is being able to BBM people across the world that’s tight. Anyways I got on my next flight, which only took about 5 and a half hours, in which I slept and read the rest of my book. So I landed in Cairo Egypt around 415pm local time on July 7th , so yes I got screwed out of an entire day. I went through customs quick and then waited for my back pack/ hope that they did not loose it and I would be screwed. I called ellen and she explained how to get a cab and get to her place. It was quiet weird to be was in Cairo it wasn’t what I expected at all, I felt like I hadn’t left LA. I am ganna come back from taking taxis around here and appreciate that the traffic in LA is way better then the awful mess that occurs on the road here lol. Traffic Laws don’t really apply here at all people cut off people everywhere and the lines in the road don’t matter at all it looked like it was supposed to be a 4 lane highway yet at some points I could count 6 cars across lol. Anyways it took me about an hour and half to get to ellens place (which took me awhile to find but thanks to Ellens roommate Sarah who came out of the apt I found it. I put my stuff down in their place (which is awesome by the way) and just relaxed till Ellen came back. She came back and both of us were tired so we just went and got shwarma ( AKA kabaab aka Gyro aka Duram) so alan yes they were bomb and you should be real jealous that this is there main course here at the little stands and shops on the street. So that rapped up my first day in a very strange city that was very interesting to walk around in.

Day 2
So I think alan is the only one that can relate with me to how hot it was when I was sleeping alan it was worse than Croatia and Rome, just saying. Though it was hot I still slept well since I hadn’t gotten a good nights rest in over 24 hours. And to my liking I wasn’t jetlagged at all so I was pumped and ready to get on my adventure. I woke up early cause I had to walk a little over a mile to get to the Marriott hotel to go on my group guided bus tour of Sakkara, Memphis, and the Great Pyramids/ the sphinx. Anyways got there paid and
For AdamFor AdamFor Adam

Where hes ganna work in a few years (country side cairo EMT)
got on the bus and come to find out m the only person on the first leg of this tour (everyone else went to the museum first). Anyways it took us about 45 minutes to get out of the city and in to the country side of Cairo, and when I say country side I mean 3rd world country poor and just insane on how people lived and went on with tier daily life. Anyways as we were going my tour guide explained different historical points in the city, she was alittle hard to understand and spoke way to fast but I started to catch on alittle. We went to Memiphis first where there were abunch of old statues found and were on display. We then continued to Sakkara. Sakkara was the first encounter that I came in contact with pyramids. This pyramid was huge. Its one of the biggest structures I had ever seen and it was an early model which meant it was a step pyramid which had 6 steps which represented some after life stuff. I walked around there and after getting really annoyed with

(CONTINUED, sorry)
all the vendors /little kids trying to sell me
King Dsojer PyramidKing Dsojer PyramidKing Dsojer Pyramid

Look on the botton step and see the people now look at the next picture
stuff I decided that from then on I was going to only respond in Spanish and really mess with them. My idea worked real well cause they knew certain words in English but couldn’t figure out Spanish it was great. After learning about Sakkara we went and met up with the other group and I join a new group with a new tour guide who was way better and spoke better English and was way more knowledgeable about history. As we were driving to the Great Pyramids you could start the see these massive structures in the distance raising way over the big apt buildings on the freeway it was insane how big these things were. (the tour guide yaya explained that one of them was around 140 meters high, which is high as shit lol. So we got there and explained all about how there was nothing inside and grave robbers and stole everything and stuff and then as were walking around 2 of the guys how I had become friends with in our group told me to come with them to ride camels so I did and this dude that was walking the camels around for us was
Photo 7Photo 7Photo 7

this is to give u a relative of how big this thing is look how small the people look
a real good photog and took some good pics of us. By the way I just realized I am writing way too much and will try and cut through some stuff and make them shorter from now on lol. So we saw all the pyramids and then went and saw the sphinx which was awesome and then went to a perfume and jewelry store which was real cool but I wasn’t about to start buying all this crap cause then id run out of money and have no room for other stuff along my travels. I took a nap when I got home and waited for ellen to get off work and then Sarah Ellen and I went to dinner across the street and had dinner on the Nile river which was freakin amazing and one of the coolest restaurants I have ever been to in the world (especially cause it had a cool breeze and I wasn’t sweating my ass off lol)

SO that leads me to today my third day in Cairo and today should be another great day because we are going to with Sarah and her boyfriend to a house that he owns on the Red Sea (which is about an hour and a half away). So im excited to relax and get some color so Im not all white like my dirty roommates from the desert. So as of now farewell my family and friends in the states , I hope ur days will be filled with excitement just like mine. (and hopefully I can shorten this up a little so you guys don’t get pissed off that is so long lol ) so from Cairo Egypt im out. The Spackler is on the move



Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 27


Advertisement

Photo 11Photo 11
Photo 11

The Great Pyramids over the buildings on the freeway on the drive up
Photo 15Photo 15
Photo 15

look closely im standing on the pyramid each stone is about 4 and a half feet tall these things were huge
Photo 16Photo 16
Photo 16

Me Warrent and Jimmy (2 Army guys from Kuwait)


9th July 2010

You rode a camel!
How cool :) Loving your blog and so glad you're doing it. One question...it ended and I can't figure out how to keep reading it. Does it cut off or is there a secret I'm missing??? Have fun and stay safe. Love you!
10th July 2010

sweet
It looks like you are having a blast brother, enjoy yourself be safe.
14th July 2010

WOW !
Looks like I am watching the next short film for the NatGeo Channel ! Put P J , I need to know , how did that Camel ever stand up ??

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0567s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb