Remaining Days in Cairo


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
July 12th 2010
Published: July 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I left you last explaining to you that I was going to the red sea, well that is exactly what we did. Sarah’s boyfriend Ramy has a condo in one of the cities off of the red sea, so he invited us to go with him and Sarah to relax on the beach for the day. We got to sleep in and took off around the time of afternoon prayer so that we wouldn’t hit traffic leaving the city. It was a about a 2 hour trip through the desert toward the sea, as we got closer it almost looked like we were coming into palm springs kind of area. Where we were in the middle of the desert but the divider was lined with grass and different stone pieces. It was very interesting to me that the government would spend all this money constructing beautiful center dividers and yet the actually major cities were very dirty and not well kept. Either was we entered the this very beautiful gated community, which also had a very lavish hotel inside it as well. We put our stuff down at Ramy’s place and walked about a hundred yards to the beach, which had huge wooden umbrellas spaced out all over the place with chairs underneath and a little table. The sand it hotter then anything I have ever experienced so that’s why people don’t just lay on towels on the beach, or at least that’s what I have concluded. We hung out in the sun sitting in the chairs and drank a few jack and cokes before deciding it was time to go into the water. The water was amazing it was so shallow for probably about 200 yards out and the water was a little warmer then a bath temperature. When we got deep enough I jumped in and just got a face full of salt water. I didn’t realize that the red sea is very very salty and man does it hurt the eyes and taste awful. Anyways we hung out at the beach all day and then went and hung out by the community pool for awhile and lounge around till it got dark and then we went and got our stuff and took off back to Cairo.

The next day Ellen took me on an adventure throughout Cryptic Cairo, aka where all the Big Mosques are. She studied them while at UCLA so she gave me a great history lesson on different ones that she liked and then we walked through them. After Mosque hopping we went to the bazaar and man I have never wanted to punch so many people so bad. These people are just so rude, I mean I’m a big guy so usually if I’m walking next to a girl guys don’t really stare, but this just freakin ridiculous they stair and whistle. Man if we were in America there’d be a lot of hurting Egyptians shit. Anyways ya besides the losers that all stared it was interesting how many shops they could fit down these little narrow streets and how many of these people begged you to come into their shop “claiming” that they had what u needed lol. It was a very cool experience for the most part and then at the end before we grabbed a cab back we got one of Ellens favorite deserts its rice pudding with vanilla ice cream on top and nuts and fruit on top it was very delicious. After that we went back and relaxed for the rest of the night.

Sunday Ellen had work, since Egyptian weekends are Friday and Saturday. So I decided to walk to the Egyptian museum in downtown. After about an hour and a half walk to go to the museum and bought my ticket and had to check my camera since they are not allowed in. The museum was amazing there is said to be over 120,000 artifacts through out the whole thing. I walked though the entire museum and read a lot of the descriptions on the sarcophaguses’ or mummies that I thought looked interesting. The only thing that I didn’t get to see was the royal mummies cause u had to pay almost double what it was to get into the museum just to get into the exhibit with the royal mummies. But the museum was still worth it. It is amazing when I was walking around and looking at some of these sculptures and detailed artifacts that the Egyptians from different time periods had carved so intricately such a long time ago. I walked back toward the apartment and half way was a Marriott along the Nile so I decided to get some lunch and go and lay out by the pool
Forget what its called but all Mosques have oneForget what its called but all Mosques have oneForget what its called but all Mosques have one

we climbed to the top and could see the whole city
for a little (since I’m whit they don’t give me a hard time and think I’m a guest at the hotel, idiots lol). I laid out by the pool for awhile and then went back to the apartment. I waited for Ellen to get back and then we took a nap and woke up just in time to watch the rest of the World Cup game on and luckily she had it at her apartment so we didn’t have to go anywhere.

Today is my last day in Cairo and basically im just preparing all my stuff and packing and making sure I all my reservations are set for Johannesburg. My flight takes off tomorrow morning at 2am so ill leave the apartment at about 11pm to make sure I get there with enough time. I have had a great time in Cairo, but now it is time to take my adventures to a completely different part of the world. For now have a good day everyone and hope to talk to you soon with good news that I am safe and sound in South Africa.



Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

At the topAt the top
At the top

A look of the whole mosque
Photo 8Photo 8
Photo 8

Citadel
In the TaxiIn the Taxi
In the Taxi

Notice the driver not watching the road as he drives real safe
A bigger ally of the BazaarA bigger ally of the Bazaar
A bigger ally of the Bazaar

The streets just got smaller and more compact
Ellens Favorite MosqueEllens Favorite Mosque
Ellens Favorite Mosque

Everything was marble it was amazing
Parking Space to prayParking Space to pray
Parking Space to pray

Each square is where a different person will kneel and pray all facing Mecca
Big house boat on the riverBig house boat on the river
Big house boat on the river

All along the Nile they have big Boats there either still are or used to be restaurants its pretty cool
Entrance to the Egyptian MuseumEntrance to the Egyptian Museum
Entrance to the Egyptian Museum

Bummer i couldnt bring my camera inside there are alot of cool thing in there
Nile RiverNile River
Nile River

Real dirty but hugggee


12th July 2010

PJ thanks for your blogs they are fantastic! You really are doing a great job descriping everything makes me want to go to Cairo. Have a safe trip to So Aftrica.
13th July 2010

duuude
hey i finally got your blog! looks sweet man..where is this camel pic i've been hearing about? the one with u on the camel and the camel sitting down! glad you got to ride one. have fun be safe!

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb