Working amongst the crowds.....


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Mediterranean » Alexandria
July 17th 2009
Published: July 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday was to put it mildly - CRAZY!
On thursdays the morn'n vet goes to a different part of town and offers free vet services to working animals (horses & donkeys) who cant come to our clinic because its too far!
So yesterday was only the second clinic offered and it was so busy! The first clinic only 6 cases were seen and yesterday we saw 12. There were even more cases than that but some left because they couldnt wait to be treated etc. So next week I think it will be even bigger!
I wish I had videos of it because it was just plain crazyness. We were in the middle of a street, kinda like a town square. Cars and trucks etc were driving by, of course they had to clow down to check out the "white person" treating the animals.
Then there were on average about 10 animals and their carts standing around us, and their owners. Then on top of that, apparently it is exciting to see a "white person" with blond hair, so I managed to attract like 30 children who constantly asked what my name was and what the time was.
Most of the cases we saw involved wounds from where the drivers of the carts hit the animals to get them going, or from where the harnesses sit and rub. Therefore, a huge part of our work is to teach these owners to better handle their animals.
Then there were a couple cases of what i think was pneumonia. Its so hard to tell because you are trying to listen to an animal's lungs but meanwhile there are like 30 people around you yelling and then the traffic is also really loud. So lets just hope that the right diagnosis was made!
Tomorrow I am so excited for because I'm going to the beach for the first time! I must remember my sunscreen this time because I already have one burn and I dont need another!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.185s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0718s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb