Cairo 2


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
March 3rd 2016
Published: March 25th 2016
Edit Blog Post

This place is very hard….by that I mean it is a huge city, 25 million people. I am in downtown so everything looks the same and when there are street signs (which is not that often) I can’t read them anyways….AH!!! I did, however, pose a question for help within a Facebook group of world travelers. It was answered and I learned about World Wildlife Day and decided to go to the event to see what it was all about. I also got in touch with a dude who runs a desert survival school and another who does running and eskrima stuff (sword or stick fighting). Cool!!! There are many things to do! Yay! After downloading a map program that will show where the fuck I am without the internet I ventured off for a 35 minute walk to find the greater cairo library where the wildlife event was taking place. Got there…meh….just some posters and a few people talking about saving animals….then I met the dude who I was chatting with online and he also mentioned many things that were far away or hard to get to…this isn’t panning out for me. Eskrima class got pushed up an hour and I was a two hour walk away, missed it. The run was a mere 16 km = 10 miles….didnt do that…and the school had an event on the 18thnear Cairo (I will be in the south by then)….GODDAMNIT!!!! Whatever… ill just find something else to do.







The next day I went to the Egyptian Museum to have a blast looking at all the old artwork and I was really excited about it. The ticket was around $10 and it turns out to even take your camera in the museum costs another $10….DAMNIT…oh well, I took 19 pictures anyways…let me rephrase that…I went in without a camera and got asked 19 separate times to be in a photo with someone…This happens often cuz I look weird, but 19 times in 2 hours is a bit much. I obliged every time and understand what makes famous people go on tirades about paparazzi…I had a decent time at the museum but the people trying to sell things to me on the way there and on the way back was too much to handle….blurg…I am not liking this country at all…


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement




Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0282s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb