Cairo 3


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Giza
March 4th 2016
Published: March 27th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Still trying to figure out a route and what to do or what to skip in this country…why am I having trouble you ask? Mainly because I was not supposed to plan this part of the trip. I was supposed to be an accompanying passenger with a friend who didn’t make it over. So I didn’t look up any information about anything in Egypt expecting him to keep his word and bring the plan (including my own up to date guide book I lent him). Soooooooo off to the pyramids of Giza today to see what kind of shit can go wrong…Well….it was supposed to be a simple 1 Egyptian Pound (1/8th of a dollar) to ride the subway allllll the way to Giza (a suburb of Cairo) and then a simple ticket purchase to wander around the plateau. Long story short I got roped into a camel ride and wound up spending a few hours listening to my guide talk about how I shouldn’t trust any Egyptian because they will just be friendly and want money in the end. Its funny cuz he’s Egyptian and telling me all kinds of friendly things. So obviously in the end I tried to give him a tip and he refused cuz it was too small (says he). I told him I paid his boss a lot more than the ticket price to get in, didn’t even really want to do a camel ride here and I didn’t even get to go in the big pyramids or the sphynx. So it was a bunch of bull crap and im REALLY not liking people’s attitude in this country. Now the other problem is I agreed to hang out with this other guy who helped me get to the pyramids and asked me to come to his place for a meal with his family which was near other pyramids called Abu Sir. I obliged again against my better judgement and was rewarded with a good meal and pleasant times. We went to this sun table/temple where normal tourists do not get to go. There was a dude we had to pay off to let me walk around the joint and he wanted way too much money but in the end I still gave him too much but I got some cool photos and a weird experience to boot. After the sun went down I went with my new friend Mohammed to his family’s guesthouse. Some British guy built a giant dome in the middle of this guesthouse where people can do meditation and vibrational healing. Odd but I found it promising being that I just came from a really spiritual place and right into the shitty fire of a huge city. I found a little more peace at the sun table and the inside the dome, but I lost my sunglasses somewhere on the way and took the subway for the first time in Africa. Things like public transportation can be scary when you cant read or write or speak the language of where you are. I can tell you I most definitely am NOT comfortable with public stuff unless it is a clear point A to point B type of trip. So the day was super weird with many ups and downs and I still don’t know what to think about this country….


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement




Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.1064s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb