Egypt -- Pyramid Time!


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
July 14th 2008
Published: July 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

my trip!


Yay! We're in Egypt & staying in ONE hotel for 5 straight nights! Woohoo! After such a frantic pace in Morocco--it's awesome to stay in Cairo for a few days in a row. Plus that is a lot cheaper too.

Cairo is a big city (about 20 million people) with TONS of taxis which don't have any meters. There are also tons of men constantly saying "Taxi? Where you from? Taxi? Need a guide? Taxi?" Ah!

Our Hotel--thank goodness--has AIR CONDITIONING! Ahhhh...I have been getting so much sleep these past few nights--yayy! Cold + dark + (relatively) quiet = sleep

It's in the 90's & over 100 in the hottest part of the afternoon. I am sure that I have sweat off all of my suncsreen, and perhaps even a few layers of skin (is that possible Sam/Mark/Olivia/Lauren/Jason/Karen all my doctor/medical friends?) by 12noon every day. At least I don't have to pee as much & hardly need the catheter anymore...I thought Florida was hot (college spring break road trip) but this is...WOW! What idiot thought that visiting Egypt in the middle of the summer was a good idea? Oh, ya--me!

Anyway, saw the Pyramids yesterday & they are INCREDIBLE! I was totally impressed, while completely drenched in sweat of course =)

I also used my video camera to shoot an hour and a half of the inside of my purse! That movie of my trip is going to be exciting!

Went to the Egyptian Museum & it rocked! Soo many artifacts & cool stuff. The mummy room was supercool--although I'm not sure how those Egyptian kings would feel if they knew that their bodies would be on display for every hairy tourist in a tank top (not me! just saw a few there...) to gawk at.

My brother comes tonight & I am excited to see him. I hope that he has the extra suitcase I asked him to bring (did I mention I also bought a rug in Morroco?). On Tuesday, Beth heads to Dubai (another great place to go in the summer!) & Matt & I leave on an overnight train to Aswan (southern Egypt--Valley of the Kings). We're going on an awesome 3 night 4 day cruise on the Nile! I'm keeping an eye out for crocodiles! And am envisioning a beautiful cruise ship with a cool, air conditioned room... =)


Advertisement



14th July 2008

jealous
amy... i am so jealous it hurts. the pictures are awesome and it sounds even more awesome. there is one thing you haven't mentioned... any egyptian lovers??
14th July 2008

Amy!! Have you had an opportunity in that part of the world to display your "excellent" belly dancing skills. There is a means of creating some potential interest ... or at least a little income !! Wishing you contined awesome journey! love ya
14th July 2008

Thanks
Wow! You bought a rug in Morroco! How much did it cost you? Thank you for sharing your adventures. Sounds like you are having a lot of fun. Looking forward for the blog updates.
15th July 2008

Go Amy
Thanks for being brave enough to live your dreams............ You'll teach us more than we will ever know........
15th July 2008

Mahalo for sharing!
How incredible. Mahalo nui for letting us live vicariously thru your trip. Aloha oe!
18th July 2008

Wish I was there
Hi Amy..and by now Matt. Love the blog and all your travel notes. Keep it coming as I can only dream and love hearing how you are doing and what your are seeing...oops run on sentence!! Be safe and have fun for me!!
19th July 2008

enjoying your stories and pictures
So excited for you Amy and Beth on this wonderful adventure! Thanks for sharing with us! Enjoy each second and have a fantastic time!
19th July 2008

sweat
I think I remember that "sweat off sun-screen and skin" look on you... Ironman!! I LOVES the blog, Amy, and totally dig your whole trip! Good on you! You're so sexy!
20th July 2008

Awesome Amy
YAY!! Thanks for doing this! I had so much fun reading about your adventures, and looking at your pictures. I can totally hear your voice and cheer through your writing. And it makes me miss you! But, what a trip of a life time!! I hope you have fun with your brother. Know that lot's of people miss you back at home. Can't wait for dec...............................!!!! Love, Karen :)
22nd July 2008

you rock!!
watchout for mummies!!
25th July 2008

hey there..looks like a good time!!!! i love the blog jackson and i have been reading and checking out the pictures..have fun with the family..love ya
25th July 2008

You so rock!
Beautiful Amy! You totally rock! LOVE reading you're blog.. you're hilarious and I'm so excited for you! Thanks for taking all of us along on the trip with you. Wishing you love and fun!!!! Alia :)

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb