Rushing around Morroco


Advertisement
Published: July 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Obviously I was kidding about the everyday thing!

Thought I'd wrap up Morocco in one blog in an effort to save the earth, my fingers, your eyes & a couple of egyptian pounds...

In Morocco we started in Casablanca, then went to Rabat, Fes, Tangier, & then Marrakech. I then came back up to Casablanca to fly out to France on my way to Egypt.

If I were to sum it up--the highlights were:

Rabat--beautiful, clean town with a low key atmosphere. Beautiful Tower of Hassan and masoleum with intricate Moroccan decoration.

Fes--inland so it was HOT! Stayed at an awesome youth hostel (with a curfew! in by 10pm) and then had a guided tour of Fes. We were led into lots of craftshops around the medina & I bought some leather goods. A couple camel leather (ok--vegetarians, you can start the hate mail now) purses & 2 supercute leather ottoman/stools! Come visit me back in San Diego & check them out next year =).

Tangier--near the ocean--so YAY! What I loved was that lots of people there spoke Spanish, which was awesome! I was actually able to communicate. I hadn't thought before leaving that I didn't know any Arabic & barely remembered any French from Middle School. (Ms. Cunio accused me of cheating on a French quiz & I promptly refused to learn any more, nor remember any French after that incident--remember Mom & Dad?) Anyway, the best thing about Tangier was the train rides there & back. We met awesome people on both train rides! The way there I met a girl & her mom (Intissar & Marika) & we exchanged language lessons--she got to practice her English & I got to practice my (heretofor nonexistant) Arabic! THe train ride back was fun & we met a school teacher (who corrected me on my Arabic) & a mom & son. The son, Aimane was a crack up! He's awesome! He sang for us! He might come stay with me some summer in CA & he can be friends with my nephew Brenden--they'd get along great! Brenden's just got to practice his Arabic...

Marrakech--big city, HUGE medina, in a word, overwhelming. There were performers, outdoor canopy food stalls, delicious freshly squeezed Orange Juice (8 oz for 40 cents!), snake charmers, henna tattoo ladies, belly dancer, smoke everywhere...I lasted about 2 hours then my eyes were burning for the next 4 hours...I ate snails, drank snail soup, & ate lamb's brains...which were mushy! Beth is my witness about the weird food & she is willing to sign a sworn affidavit about seeing me eat this stuff.

I was happy to be back to Casablanca & left for Paris the next morning!

ps--in Morocco it seems as if people are professional smokers--everyone smokes! uh! Dab we need some Tobacco Free Africa coalition over here.

pps--And I've included a photo of a 'toilet'/hole in the ground...it is a challenge not to drench my sneakers in my own urine. You'd think I'dhave learned more about angles & projectories in my pool lessons...


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



14th July 2008

Did you wow them with your own smoking hot belly dancing
and make their eyes water for a change? LOL! Also, take some more pictures of you in native garb -- outlandish as it may seem... Have fun!

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0463s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb