Up on the Roof


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
June 13th 2008
Published: June 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Last summer after I had returned from Egypt, someone asked what memory I would hold onto most fondly. Without thinking I said, “Sitting on the roof of the seminary late at night with the stars overhead, a cool breeze blowing and engrossed in wonderful conversation.”

It’s not surprising then to hear that after dinner Wednesday night, I headed up to the roof. The sun sets early in Cairo, they don’t have twilight like I’m used to in northern climes. So by 8:30 the sky is dark and the stars begin to appear. From the third floor of the seminary building you take the staircase up one more flight until you ascend to the sight of a green-lit minaret nearby and the lights of central Cairo in the distance. The roof is flat, not pitched, so we bring up chairs and set up camp. Often there is a cool breeze that blows that makes it much cooler on the roof than on the ground. Sometimes during really hot periods, the students will even sleep up on the rooftop at night. Some nights I would like to do this as well, but I’m sure that would be the most scandalous thing ever so I won’t try.

Last night I sat with Stephen, a Roman Catholic seminarian from Mobile, AL, studying in Rome and teaching in the summer course with me. As I sat there taking in the moon and the stars, the breeze, the late night call to prayer coming from multiple mosques all around, I was filled with gratitude and great joy.

A note to those of you who would like to add comments to this blog: please know that they are public comments. If you’d like to share a private thought please do so directly through e-mail (or you may be able to do a private comment directly from this site.)

An added note: I wrote this post on Thursday, but this is the first chance I have had to post it. I need prayers for a really good night sleep. I've gotten 8 or 9 hours of sleep since arriving. At night I'm tired but I don't fall asleep and same with the day. I think I'm just completely jet lagged. It's taking it's toll and I need a really good nights sleep.


Advertisement



15th June 2008

Beauty
Pastor Amy, You make this place you love sound so beautiful. I am so glad I get to view it through your eyes. God Bless!!!

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0908s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb