Friends


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
June 15th 2008
Published: June 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Last summer towards the end of my time I made friends with a group of children who would come and hang out around the seminary in the late afternoon when the seminarians were playing football (soccer). They spoke little English and I spoke no Arabic so we played games and sang songs. When the guys came out to play the kids would gather beneath the windows and call out, "Amy, Amy" until I would come down.

Thursday afternoon was the first football match of the summer course. I was up in my room reading and preparing for class. My windows were open and I could hear the sounds of the match. Before long I heard, "Amy, Amy" from little voices. I went to the window and my friends were gathered below and waving at me. With the help of one of the students, my new friends and I have set up a play date for Tuesday at 5:30. I'll have to teach some new songs -- Head, Shoulders, Knees and Toes gets tired quickly when it's 100 degrees outside!



Advertisement



15th June 2008

One of your favorite memories of last trip
I know those kids were one of the great highlights of the trip for you last year. So glad that you have found each other again!
16th June 2008

Welcome Home
I can already hear the smile in your writing.

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.071s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb