My bag decided to join me


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
April 29th 2007
Published: April 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, after writing up my last message yesterday, i stopped by the hotel before dinner and the delivery guy of my bag was up front. I was so happy to see it and be able to shower and get rid of the "Playboy" egyptian smell. After settling up with the bag i headed out to dinner. It took a little while to find the place but was well worth it. I ordered up grilled pigeon, grilled chicken, rice, and pita bread. It was the first time having pigeon and was really good, for now on upon my return to the states i will be seeing a pigeon and just think of what a tasty snack he will be... On the way back from dinner i found a hooka bar and tried it out. I don't smoke tobacco, but my travel book said it's a flavored tabacco in which you get a distinct buzz, hey, i wasn't going to pass something up with that type of description. They brought a 3 foot hooka and served me a beer as well. The smoke was good as it tasted like peaches and they were right about the buzz, it was mild and didn't last long but might hit it up one more time while in Cairo. After that i called it a night as it was past midnite. By the way most dinners i have had were around 10 since most people in Cairo don't eat dinner till then.

The next morning we headed out to the Cairo museum which was huge, in fact a 120,000 artifacts huge. So my guide, took me to the major stuff and explained it and then had some alone time to run amok in this huge museum. You can literally spend weeks in there if you study it all. They did have all the Tutenkamen relics in there, including the famous gold mask. It was really impressive, plus he had alot of gold jewelry that would make any rapper jeoleous. The only gold accessory he was missing was a gold grill for the mouth!

Next we went to the coptic area that had old christian churches (including one that Mary mother of Jesus supposedly stayed at for a week while crossing through egypt), mosques and synagogues in this area. Was interesting to see that all 3 religious shrines were in such proximity. Afterwards, we went to some bazaars and then got some lamb kebabs.

I stopped by the papyrus shop and talked the staff for tonite and they suggested a good dinner. I will be meeting up with one of the girls from the shop later as she will show me around some of the night life. Her name is Hoda, and she is studying Italian but speaks some english as well. She is muslim otherwise, i would ask if she wanted to get a drink. That would be a big no-no.

Anyways, tommorrow is the zoo and then a nile boat ride and bellydancing!!! Yeah, can't wait. For the last day in egypt i might do something i didn't do last trip and not done so far this trip... Which is a day of NOTHING!!! Lay by the pool and relax. I think i need that for my second wind for Greece as Alicia wants to go out and party the day we get in.

By the way, i got though just about most of day speaking arabic including haggling prices of some souvenirs i bought. It's funny looking at their dumbfounded faces when i say it's too expensive, or lower the cost, nevermind, or leave me alone.

I hope everyone is well.

Mike

Advertisement



30th April 2007

You have clean clothes
Hey Mike, glad to hear you got your luggage, hopefully you can carry it on board instead of checking it so it stays with you. Very interesting tours you are getting, fascinating stuff, you cannot appreciate what you are going through until you actually see all of these places in person. Glad the food is tasty, wish I could have joined you smoking that fruit tasting weed. I do not need to tell you to have fun, its obvious you are. Regards, Lou
1st May 2007

you really did good trip
yes you did it Mike, it was a really good trip i donno if you saw the pyramids or not because you didn't mention it. it's soo amazing ... hope you like Egypt and hope we see you soon again Regards, Mohammed Egyptian Lover

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0321s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb