Smell like an egyptian...


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
April 28th 2007
Published: April 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I get to the title in a bit. So, last nite i found the restaraunt after some searching since just about everything is in arabic and english street titles are far and inbetween. Once, there i was treated to falfelal, beans, french fries (seems to be a staple every country i visit) and good pita bread. The waiter spoke really no english but the owner who gave the suggestion wrote the order in arabic so it made it easy. It was really good (leyzes in arabic) and cost 11 egyption pounds, which is oh 2 dollars (5.68 pounds to a dollar) so it was a good deal!!!

There are some crazy cabs plus vw buses that have the side door open and people just jump in as it's moving as they run up and down 2 major roads. I haven't ridden one yet but might try tonite.

I met my guide in the morning and she was very nice, and we went of to sakkara pyramid (step pyramid) and went inside. After that we went to a local place for lunch and had kababs, fresh pita bread and many other side dishes. It was tasty, most of it, some stuff well, one bite was suffice...

Then we headed to the pyramids in Giza. they are much bigger in person then a tv or picture can do justice. the sphinx, though was smaller then i had imagined. But all in all this site was very impressive. During the whole trip i was trying to learn arabic from my guide as she is a willing teach as my goal by the end of tour tommorrow is to not use english unless absolutely necessary.

Upon, our return we stopped at the papyrus shop of the owner that i met the previous day and hung out. He offered me a drink and talked with the staff. they are good people and are entertained with my arabic. They suggested a new place tonight. I might try to invite them out to dinner tommorrow as a sign of my thanks for all the hospitality they have shown me.

My bag should be arriving to my room soon. thank god.

That reminds me the title was because i bought a tooth brush, tooth paste, deoderont (that was a roller type and the only fragrance they had was "playboy" with the playboy symbol on the bottle. Plus some hair cream that smelled and looked alot like coconut cream, which may in fact be it. So, i felt and smelled like those pimped out middle eastern looking guys... I'm sure you all know the type. Just needed some aviator glasses and a vest and i will be all good.

Anyways, i'm off for dinner and then a good night rest as we have another full day. Plus, my guide is looking into a boat tour of the nile that will include dinner and a belly dancing show. Howa awi!!! (very good!).

Ok, enough english for now, must think like an egyptian...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0675s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb