RIHLA #13


Advertisement
South America
December 18th 2011
Published: December 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

During the Middle Ages (or Cross-Cultural Interaction), many people considered warriors and knights to be heroes because they offered protection. Let's consider the meaning of a hero in 2011.

Read through CNN's Top Ten Heros of 2011 and answer the following questions:
1. Which one do you consider the be most HEROIC? Explain.
I think Amy Stokes is the most heroic because she created a network that allows people from all around the world to connect. Amy Stokes uses the internet to connect South African teens affected by HIV/AIDS. This helps the kids all around the world communicate with others as they get older.

2. If you had the chance, who would you nominate to be your hero of 2011? (This person can be someone you know personally or a public figure that you consider to be a hero)
I would nominate my parents. My parents have been there for me no matter what through thick an thin and support me in everything I do. For example I want to go to the marines and they are there for my support no matter what my decisions are.

3. Do we study "heroes' in history? Who decides who or what is heroic?
I think we do study heroes in history because they are recognized in the past and known for what they do. I believe every one is a hero in their own way as long as someone believes they are a hero to them. I just think it depends on why the person looks up to you and believes in you.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.309s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.2462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb