Esmeraldas


Advertisement
South America
April 2nd 2010
Published: July 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

FotoshootingFotoshootingFotoshooting

La Tolita - Esmeraldas

Esmeraldas



I spent the Friday with Daniel in the historic city center, watching the parade for easter. We also went up to the Panecillo and in the rain down. We had to hurry to get the bus to Esmeraldas. We all slept in the bus, but we arrived at 1am in the night to Esmeraldas, so I was damn tired. We took a taxi from the terminal, which got stopped by the police, because it went to fast on a road with these tiny stones (Schotterstrasse). The neighborhood looks okay but after we entered a aluminium door (aus Wellblech), I started to have my doubts. The house was really, really simple. Annabells and Daniels mom lives upstairs, in 2 room flat with a living kitchen and a tiny bathroom. Downstairs lives the brother of Annabells and Daniels mom. Annabells daughter Angie lives with Annabells mom, because she has to end her school their before she moves to Quito to Annabell and Daniel. I slept with Annabell and Angie in one room, Annabell and Angie in one bed while I had my own. Daniel slept in the other room and I dont really know where the mom slept. I think, she was sleeping on the couch/sofa in the living room. I felt a little bit bad, because I had the most comfortable bed 😞 That is just too nice for somebody you barely know...

On the day we arrived, Saturday, Daniel and I went alone to Atacames, because Annabell had stuff to do and they both dont like beaches. Cant understand them ... I love beaches!!!!
So we went to the terminal and took a chiva, a small bustrain, something between a train and a bus, which is open on the sides but goes on wheels. We sat on top and enjoyed the wind and the perfect view. When we arrived there we visited a friend of Daniel who works there in a juice and snack bar. We had a big juice and then went to the beach. We walked along the beach, the water was low (low tide) and you could see the wet kind of muddy sand (almost like a Watt). I found several interesting animals that I had to investigate, some kind of worms (vielleicht waren das ja Wattwürmer), some kind of amobe, tiny snails, ...
We went for a swim and then burried ourselves in the sand in the shadow of a palm and slept for a while (I think it might have been an hour). Then we went to have lunch, in a place where normally works another friend of Daniel, but she wasnt there. We took another swim and a walk to the other direction. In the evening we went through the souvenir market and he bought me a green bracelet. Daniel had the idea to stay there at his friends house, but I preferred to go back, so we went back to Esmeraldas.

On Sunday, we went all together to Atacames, the beach. First we went for a swim and Daniel, Angie and I played together, while Annabell and her mom talked with each other sitting on the beach. A boat left close to us the beach and making space for it, put us into a current which we strongly fighted against and escape after some minutes. Angie was on my back while I tried to get into swallower water. I was scared a little bit.
This time we walked all the way along the beach to the next beach around the corner, the so called playa Sua. We crossed the river there, which was pretty easy because of low tide. We went swimming and playing with Angie while Annabell and her mom stayed in the shadow. After some time Annabell found come friends and spent the whole day talking to them. I think she went just once for three seconds into the water. Daniel took the camera, so we made a lot of fotos. For lunch we ate soup and fried fish for 2US$. I think it was really good, but Annabell doesnt like food from the street.
Then we were playing football and with the mud from the river. We had really a lot of fun! Then we wanted to build a sandcastle with Angie but it started to rain, so we went to a bar and Daniel and I had a Caipirinha. Just one! 😊 Then we went back to Esmeraldas on the back of the pickup of one of Daniels friends.
In the night Daniel left to Quito, because he has to work on Monday. I stayed with Annabell.

On Monday I went with Annabell to cut my hair, for 4US$. Thats a good price, although I saw many places in Quito offering it for 3US$. then I went with Annabell to "La Tolita" where her cousin and aunt lives to visit them. She gave me her brown dress, which I was wearing that day. I felt weird wearing something so nice, just to visit friends. We talked a lot or mainly she talked. They had a lot to talk about because they didnt see each other for some time. We also made some pictures with her cousin, which I found surprisingly immidiately next day on facebook. Annabells friends talked about the past and happenings in Esmeraldas, for example that someone they know died by shooting himself into the head, probably drunk. Nobody really knows why and how, but the girlfriend went crazy. They also told the story from a old friend who died in the sea because of currents and left his pregnant wife behind.
Thats the kind of day Annabell likes ... not really my style.

On Tuesday Annabell made my wish of seeing the families farm come true. We went to "La tolita" and from there with the cousin to the farm. Its a big piece of land with a connection to the river on the back. But the river is dirty and cold and has a strong stream, so not really nice for swimming. On the farm we could see all kinds of fruits: Bananas, Zapote, Guave, Cacao, Papaya, Naranjilla, Mango, ...
We had the juice of a coconut and ate a banana. There were also a lot of butterflies, interesting. The owner of the farm, I dont remember the connection to the family, was so different. She was wearing boots and trousers, like a typical woman from a farm. You barely see that in the streets of Ecuador, or in general in south america.
In the evening we went to "Las Palmas", the local beach in Esmeraldas, also pretty beautiful. The mother told me that she got robbed there once and just because of god she survived. With Angie I was drawing labyrinths into the sand and we tried to find the way. That was really funny! We ate some Corviches, thats a fried mass of platano (this hard kind of banana) filled with fish and served with mayonese. Not really healthy, but delicious and cheap! (1US$ each)
Back home we watched fotos from Annabells wedding and past. It made her really sad! The mom told me a lot about god ... she is a strong believer!
And then I watched the movie "La princesa y el sapo" with Angie before falling asleep.

On Wednesday we went again to Las Palmas, prepared everything and left with the night bus. Thanks for everything, Annabells mom!!!

In the morning we arrived to Quito and the taxi wanted to charge us 5US$ because he saw my face, we took another one for 2US$. Then we went to the old town, tried to enter the palace, but it was closed because the vicepresident of Ecuador was going to welcome the embassador of France, or something like that 😉
Then we did some shopping, walked around, took my backpack from the hostal, because from now on I lived in their house. Thank you for everything Annabell!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0201s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb