New sights and old friends


Advertisement
South America
April 23rd 2010
Published: April 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

sa


Hola Amegos!

It has been a little while since I last filled you in on what I have been up to, and I have been up to a fair bit. Here is the quick version; Travelled up to Peru through Argentina and Chile, met up with friends from home, saw some stuff, said good bye to friends, heading further north.

If that was enough detail for you go follow the link at the bottom of this page to look at the pretty pictures, if not here is a slightly longer version:
After returning from Easter Island I needed to work my way north to Peru to meet up with friends from home who were coming out to meet me for a couple of weeks. On the way I stopped at a few places and did a few cool things, this included; sandboarding, visiting the driest desert in the world, star gazing, paragliding, trekking the second deepest canyon in the world, visiting on of the highest lakes in the world, mountain biking, enjoyed a South American Easter and seeing lots of Inka/pre-Inka stuff.

Then met up with Helen, Stuart, Twe and Emmet who where fresh from their 28 hour (inc 6 hour delay) bus trip to Cusco (btw that is considered on time in Peru, and the Gatwick Express!). At this point the standard of accommodation went well up, as did alcohol and cheese consumption.

Had some fun around Machu Pitchu and Cusco. Then headed to Nasca to see the giant drawings in the sand from one of the bumpiest plane rides ever. Further down the coast we were back in the desert again, so headed to an oasis to do some sandboarding and buggy riding. Also took a trip to Paracas to see my first major bit of wildlife since leaving Patagonia.

Saddly had to say good bye to the guys in Lima as they had to go home to something they call 'work', not really sure what that means! Unfortunately or fortunately (not sure which) they got an extra holiday in the states on the way home, as mother nature showed Europe just who is boss.

As I write this I am in Peruvian surf town near the Ecuador boarder. The plan is to cross the boarder in a few days time after some more kitesurfing.

One thing that has changed since meeting up with the guys from home is that I am now staying in much nicer places, I really can't face the thought of going back to a dorm again!

Link to photos for you viewing pleasure.

Oh and one thing I forgot to say, I love Peru!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0515s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb