Happy Birthday


Advertisement
South America
April 13th 2009
Published: April 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I´m like a bird..... A Turkey?I´m like a bird..... A Turkey?I´m like a bird..... A Turkey?

The Birthday Girl takes to the air.
So, a quick update as we have been on the move over the last few days.

Cordoba, very nice. We had a go at Paragliding over the Sierras for Rach´s Birthday, up for about 40 minutes which was superb. Even climbed at 3m per second, which is pretty good (apparently), I know it made my stomach gurggle which is as good a test as any. Jumped on a bus for 2 hours and found a bit of Germany. Very strange experience going all the way out into the countryside and finding an Alpine village. Joined in the Easter procession in Cordoba. It was billed as a walking theatre on Jesus, however after it started over an hour late (as most things do over here) and consisted of a few Romans and a bloke who just about had a beard we gave up and went for a beer.

We went out for a good bit of beef in the evening for Rach´s Birthday. That is something that they do damn well over here (along with the Coffee, never will a Nescafe pass my lips again). It was a superb evening and all washed down with a nice bottle of Malbec
The Birthday GirlThe Birthday GirlThe Birthday Girl

Too much drinking......? Or no sleep on the night bus?
(so good, if only we copuld fit a crate or two into our packs). We tried going out for a few beers aftewards but were heading back to the hostel by 2:00, which is when all the locals where just coming out.

Hope you are all well. Caught some of the Champions League, all getting a little interesting. Had to come back from the beach early to watch Man Utd do the business.

Has anyone seen my trousers?


So, the old rucksack has got a little lighter then. I think the maid has stolen my trousers! Normally I would be a little upset by this, however I am stuck with a dilemma. Alas I have lost a 30%!o(MISSING)f my choice of clothes for my lower half. I am now left with a pair of trousers, a pair of shorts and my trusty Borat Speedo´s. However they where starting to look a tad haggered and now I have more room in my rucksack....

Has anyone got a spare pair of trousers I could borrow to go out tonight?

Your a Guy......?


"Was the look I got when the immigration officer viewed my passport on the way into Uruguay."
So, we crossed the Plata and are now in Uruguay. I have always wanted to go to Montevideo and now have that box ticked. Things started well when they were piping out Robin Hood with Spanish dubbing in the bus terminal. The BBC is everywhere, we have been watching UK programmes from Cambodia to Uruguay. It is good to see that our TV Licences are being used to entertain the world.

The highlight of Montevideo had to be going to the market for lunch. Now that is what I call a BBQ!!!

We have then moved down the coast to the beach resort of Punta Del Este. It is quite quiet but that just means that we have about a mile of sand to ourselves, which is great as it stops any strange looks at my dodgy swimmers, however a pain when it comes to getting an ice cream.

Next it is back to Argentina and on to Brazil.

Will see you all soon.
R&R


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



25th April 2009

Thanks for the pants
Hope you had a lovely birthday Rachel !! i'm jealous that you got to go paragliding. Before you leave Argentina please enjoy another steak for me .. I miss it so much. Our return to London has not been so bad as the sun has continued to shine ... still job less but Anna has started kicking some ass in her new classes. I hope your both still having a great time .. not too many more pasta dinners to go now so have an amazing last few weeks. Thanks for the trousers Richard, bit small for me though. Take care love V and A xx

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0619s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb