BA - the most beautiful city in the world!


Advertisement
South America
November 24th 2005
Published: November 24th 2005
Edit Blog Post

After some terribly hot weather, finally anice 23C day to wander the streets of Buenos Aires. It is very much a combination of Melbourne and any of the grand European cities. There´s heaps of plazas, parks and green spaces to break up the city blocks, the pollution is quite low considering the population, and the architecture and statuary are amazing. Buenos Aires is by far the most beautiful city I´ve every seen.

I spent my first day at the zoo, takign a few pics,which I´ll put in this post. Most of my other BA pics (very few, I wasn´t too keen to put my camera on display most of the time) are in parks, plazas and gardens. Today I went to the Roseda, or Rose Gardens, and the Jardin Japones (Japanese Gardens). The koi pond in the Japanese gardens was getting an overhaul, so there wasn´t a whole lot to see, but the rose gardens were great, not because of the roses but just the view in general. Sunny, green grass, flower displays, a lake, shady trees (heaps of enormous eucalypts), statues and terraces.
I´ve still to make it to the galleries and museums, hopefully I´ll get to a few
antique carouselantique carouselantique carousel

Buenos Aires Zoo
tomorrow. I spoke to a very nice (and very handsome) police officer at the Palacio Congress, as the building is under reconstruction and I wanted to see Rodin´s ´The Thinker´, the original of which is inside. Apparently I can still see it, I just have to find the right door to get inside....

Time to add some photos....


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

The Elephant HouseThe Elephant House
The Elephant House

Buenos Aires Zoo
beautiful bridgebeautiful bridge
beautiful bridge

Buenos Aires Zoo
nice buildingnice building
nice building

Buenos Aires Zoo
hipposhippos
hippos

Buenos Aires Zoo
nice building 2nice building 2
nice building 2

Buenos Aires Zoo
headless giraffeheadless giraffe
headless giraffe

Buenos Aires Zoo
butterfly collectionbutterfly collection
butterfly collection

Buenos Aires Zoo
insect collectioninsect collection
insect collection

Buenos Aires Zoo
macawsmacaws
macaws

Buenos Aires Zoo
nice building 3nice building 3
nice building 3

Buenos Aires Zoo
nice building 3 againnice building 3 again
nice building 3 again

Buenos Aires Zoo
nice building 3 yet againnice building 3 yet again
nice building 3 yet again

Buenos Aires Zoo
nice building 4nice building 4
nice building 4

Buenos Aires Zoo
puma statuepuma statue
puma statue

Buenos Aires Zoo
nice building 5nice building 5
nice building 5

Buenos Aires Zoo


Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 20; qc: 93; dbt: 0.1013s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb