This is it.


Advertisement
South America
July 18th 2007
Published: July 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, here I am...my final day in South America.

Its been a crazy experience, hard to put it all into words.

I think back on my first day and remember what I was feeling, scared, nervous, felt like I was way way way in over my head. And now, Im not scared of anything here, not nervous at all and I feel like I can do anything.

I saw things I never thought I would see. I ate things I never thought I would eat. I met alot of good people, and just as many bad ones. I was at my best and my worst. I realized what is important in life, and what isnt. I learned who matters in my life, and who doesnt. I learned how lucky I am to have what I have, who I have and live where I live. I went far outside my comfort zone, which was a good thing. Ive learned alot about myself, other people and just the world in general. Ive packed and unpacked my backpack hundreds of times. Ive seen things alot of people will never see. Ive become more mature and more independent. Ive grown up, but I know that Im still a kid, and I want to keep it that way for a while. Ive learned that the world isnt as scary as it is made out to be. Ive learned a little about what I want in life, but I still have a lot more to figure out. I think Ive become a better person, but I also still have alot of work to do. Ive learned to become more patient, but again, I still have alot more work to do. Ive learned to rely on myself and no one else. Ive learned that if I try hard enough I think I can do just about anything. Ive been to 6 different countries, travelled thousands of miles, and now its almost over.

I am excited more than I have ever been to go home, but at the same time I feel like Im closing a chapter in my life, but thats how it goes. I really dont know what to feel right now. I know that my life is just beginning now, but this part of it is ending. I know that my time travelling the world is just starting and will probably never end.

I look forward to seeing all of my family again, sleeping in my own bed, eating White Spot and Tim Hortons of course. I will miss so many things from down here, I will miss not knowing what tommorow will be like, I will miss trying new things.

This will be the last time I write in this blog, for now. But my next adventure will start again soon and the blog will start again too.

Thanks to everyone who read this and emailed me words of encouragment when I needed them.

Andrew

Advertisement



Tot: 0.249s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 13; qc: 56; dbt: 0.119s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb