smoke of a distant fire


Advertisement
Uruguay's flag
South America » Uruguay
April 18th 2008
Published: April 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I was checking the news and I found out what is being burned and why. Turns out they are clearing the fields for grazing.

http://www.bloomberg.com/apps/news?pid=20601086&sid=aBR_Bu_i.Edw&refer=latin_america

I found an article online which describes the air in Buenos Aires as unbreathable. (I can't help but point out the irony of a city filled with smoke called "Buenos Aires" - good air (I think it means something slightly different but that is what the words literally mean.)

Based on the article I could blame the Argentines for all the smoke but I know for a fact that Uruguayan farmers were burning their fields too.

Advertisement



19th April 2008

Burning too
Yes, Uruguayan farmers do it to. But they keep it under control. This mess is because in Argentina they were careless and fires spread out. I live in Uruguay, and never seen something like this before

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0671s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb