shopping day


Advertisement
Uruguay's flag
South America » Uruguay
April 17th 2008
Published: April 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It is now Thursday with one day left to go. Since we still have the car, we drove to a mall in town, the Punta Carretas mall. The mall officially opened at 10 am and we got there about 10 to 10. a guard told us that the mall did not open until 10 and I said ok and kept walking. Another guard said that the mall did not open until 10 and I then asked, "can I walk around" to which he replied 'no'. Mind you, there were people walking around.

A supermarket was open in the mall so we went in to kill some time. After 10 minutes we were free to meander the mall. There were your usual assortment of mall stores and by and large the people were all friendly. There are a few styles of clothes the locals wear. The causal look consists of jeans (European cuts not American) and button down fitted casual style cotton shirts. The shirts are not tucked in and come down just below the belt line. I was looking at shirts and asked the sales clerk about the sizes. I told her I was an American and that I did not know what the sizes meant. I told her that I did not see any larges. She said that they did not have large as this was Uruguay. I took that to mean a couple of things. One, there are no large people in Uruguay or two, they wear them one size smaller. In any event I decided to get a couple to look like a local for a night.

Another look is the sweaters. It is early fall down here and a popular look of the business casual set is a zip up sweater over a dress shirt. Almost no one wears sports jackets. The people are pretty relaxed down here as many men sport their hair looking like 'bed head' even to work and have the two day stubble to match. (bed head is one look I cannot duplicate even if I wanted to). We picked up some clothes and stopped at the supermarket before leaving the mall. I have had enough of dining out and wanted the last few meals to be safer simpler meals at home.

(some of you may wonder why I have all this reference to food. Some readers of this blog are fellow celiacs who cannot just pick up anything to eat and for whom travel is a challenge. Overall I find it far easier to eat down here than in the states as foods are better labeled and the food supply is cleaner. Nothing is perfect as was demonstrated in Colonia, but when one cannot eat freely, then eating becomes almost an obsession.)

It is time to get some gas and return the car. be back later.

Advertisement



22nd July 2008

LOL
Haha, you really make me laugh. I'm uruguayan living in China, and it was really funny the "bed head" stuff. It's true sometimes we go out like this :)
19th April 2009

apologies
Just saw your comment now, many months after you posted it. I did not intentionally ignore your post, just had not logged on for ages.

Tot: 0.25s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 7; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1931s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb