Here in Uruguay


Advertisement
Uruguay's flag
South America » Uruguay » West » Colonia del Sacramento
March 12th 2009
Published: March 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

FerryFerryFerry

I chose the slow ferry that took three hours to get from Buenos Aires to Colonia, Uruguay. It was the easiest border crossing so far.
I made it...one more thing off my bucket list. I took the ferry from Buenos Aires to Colonia, Uruguay. The weather is humid, with thundershowers; I think there is a tropical storm passing by.
Colonia is a wonderful historic town. Uruguay is a mixture of Switzerland and Bermuda, I think, with a dash of Italian culture mixed in. Cars do not honk!! and they stop for pedestrians! I have met more Canadians here than any other part of South America that I visited. I think Uruguay is laid-back like Canada, with more of a European twist, and tropical weather. Many people are driving on mopeds with no helmuts. The cars are mainly from Europe. The pace of life is gentle.
The only complaint so far is the very, very slow computers that do not let you upload photos from camera. I have to go to photography store to have them take pictures from my memory card and put them on the flashdrive and then I can slowly, very slowly upload the photos. There won´t be many pictures on my blogs until I find a decent internet computer....maybe in Montevideo (capital city).


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Approaching ColoniaApproaching Colonia
Approaching Colonia

Ferry gets near to shore. Water is brown because of sendiment from rivers
Time StopsTime Stops
Time Stops

Pace of life is very gentle. Sometimes it seems like time has stopped
Old TownOld Town
Old Town

Really good food: hearty grilled beef, local cheeses and wine, cheap prices.
HouseHouse
House

I got a room in a local house for the first night. This is the entrance to house, really tall walls and nice art
RuinsRuins
Ruins

Portuguese settled here first, I think. I´ve got to do the museum thing soon.
SeaFrontSeaFront
SeaFront

Note, I´m holding orange rain jacket behind me because I am sick of seeing it in every photo. ha ha
FlowersFlowers
Flowers

Trees are in full bloom, parrets are squacking from the tops of palm trees.
FishmanFishman
Fishman

Grey skies from a rainy day. No one seemed to mind the sprinkles.


Tot: 0.319s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 59; dbt: 0.101s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb