Salto, and the secret flip flops


Advertisement
Uruguay's flag
South America » Uruguay » North » Salto
August 9th 2008
Published: August 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After an early morning jog, oh yes you heard it here folks, there was just time to grab some breakfast and have a stroll round the shops.

In one particular shop my eyes light up. For there, in front of me is a pair of Havaianas, their standard Brazilian flag has been replaced with an Argentinian flag - these are quite unique and I snap them up. I'm a little ashamed of my purchase though and the ease in which I bought them as Tor is the flip-flop queen and has yet to find a pair she likes. So shhhhh!

In my excitement I don't realise that I've left my sunglasses behind and when we go to check out I am hit by the sense of something missing on my head. Arrrgh.

One run up and down the road later and we are in a cab back to the station to catch the bus to Montevideo.

Bus details of which I've lost.

We board the bus and take the five hour journey which is largely uninteresting apart from the antics of some Uruguayan stoner, complete with guitar and having a sneaky joint in the toilet. Uruguay is the only country to actually make illegal the act of smoking in public places although there seems to be a general culture of not doing it anyway, it was weird though when halfway through dinner you catch the scent of cigarette smoke.

Anyway - eventually we arrive in Montevideo, capital of Uruguay. Next entry...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0295s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb