A quick stop in Uruguay...


Advertisement
Uruguay's flag
South America » Uruguay » East » Punta del Este
March 15th 2008
Published: March 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Uruguay…

I made a quick stop in Colonia and Punta del Este, Uruguay but the weather was not cooperating!

Colonia is a quaint little town. It was beautifully situated on the coast. After the agent called 7 places he found me a place to sleep at a little bed and breakfast type place called "Posada de Angel". There were angels everywhere; figurines, paintings, etc. I don't think this was a coincidence but that's just my opinion!!!

Punta del Este is a beautiful vacation area, so I'm told. I didn't see any of it because it was cold and rainy but I hear it is the place to be in Jan and Feb. As my friend Virginia says...how do you say when the stream goes this way and you are going this way...always against the grain, that's me!

Basically the trip was a disaster. The first 36 hours it did nothing but rain. I was so hungry as there was no place to go and I needed a car to get there. I called to order room service and they said 2 hours. I lost it with the poor guy on the phone and he personally brought my food. When the rain stopped I moved to a closer hotel right on the coast and still it rained. Over the language barrier and over being alone. This is about the time I was heading back to the states!

But then... I met Ezequial. Ezequial is a local Argentine I met on the buquebus (bus and boat ride ) from Uruguay. He was also returning early because of the weather. He has no idea what his kindness did for me. He made me smile and laugh when I was ready to give up and come home. I had been alone for 4 days in my room because of the weather and I was ready to quit. Talking with Ezequial reminded me of the opportunity I have in front of me and that going home was not what I wanted to do. So I found myself back in BA planning my next move.

Ezequial and I went to dinner, he ordered and I ate Mollejas (gizzard). Those of you that know me are probably laughing right now. But believe it or not it was actually very good...until I knew what it was! No it really was good but the thought of what it was makes me laugh. Then we went to a quiet little bar, 878, where the bartenders make the most unique and best drinks. Very fun night.

It was a shame I didn't get to see what Uruguay had to offer. Guess I'll have to go back!


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Boat to Colonia...Boat to Colonia...
Boat to Colonia...

always wanted to ride on a boat that moves the cars too!
Cool picture of the rain...Cool picture of the rain...
Cool picture of the rain...

download and enlarge...it's really amazing!
Cute...Cute...
Cute...

Colonia


Tot: 0.233s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 13; qc: 60; dbt: 0.1302s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb