MY BIRTHDAY...


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Misiones » Puerto Iguazú
March 15th 2008
Published: March 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Cataratas del Iguazu 36 secs
2: Cataratas del Iguazu 52 secs
3: Cataratas del Iguazu 18 secs
FREBRUARY 19, 2008 - My birthday, my 41st birthday, and I went to Iguazu Falls - Cataratas del Iguazu! A place I've wanted to see for 4 years and it was well worth the wait. What a way to spend my birthday. Note: For those of you reading this that had no idea of my age…SURPRISE! It surprises me everyday, why should I be alone! I plan to be this young at heart forever while being proud of being in my wonderful 40’s. I must admit I was getting a little pre-occupied with what I thought a 40 year old was suppose to be...mature, responsible, together, spouse, children, etc, or better yet 'not be'...fun, lively, unsure, single, still love to dance and go out, be silly, etc, but this is just another one of those major life lessons while on this journey. Be who you are and not who you think society has said you should be.

The bus ride…
I took a 20 hour bus ride to and from BA on Crucero del Norte. It was very comfortable and fun. If you ever do this always make sure to do the Cama Suite; a full bed with privacy curtain; welcome whiskey and candy, dinner followed by champagne with breakfast. The staff was great!

The next 2 days were amazing…
On the ride there I met Kristina from Nevada. Kristina was traveling for 2 months and was towards the end of her journey. Again, my angel appeared in Kristina a wonderful person to spend my birthday with. She helped me celebrate by lying by the pool and drinking caiparhinia's (of which I do both so well) then we enjoyed a wonderful dinner at Aqua on the main street. Absolutely delicious. Once again in my efforts to rescue all the adorable stray dogs I cut my leftover lomo into pieces to give to them but after the 2nd piece a young man walked up and asked if he could have my leftovers. How could I say no?

The falls were mesmerizing, absolutely f@$%!i(MISSING)ng amazing! There really is no other way to describe them. We walked to Devil’s Throat and every time the wind blew we got soaked. Wow! We took a jeep ride through the jungle and then a boat ride through rapids and directly into the falls…amazing! I saw monkeys, a Toucan, little anteater looking things, and wild guinea pigs! ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! My cheeks actually hurt from smiling so much. I hope you all get a chance to see this amazing piece of nature’s artwork.

To read more about the falls check out this link… http://www.iguazuturismo.gov.ar/en/index.html

The next morning I took a walk to a point where you can stand in Argentina and look across to Paraguay and Brazil. You can see a representation of all 3 flags from this point.

Enjoy the pictures...check out the rainbows! Also, turn on your volume when viewing the video clips so you can hear the waterfalls.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ME!



Additional photos below
Photos: 175, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



16th March 2008

kick ass!
that place is kick ass! totaly looks like my kind of place.
17th March 2008

Fauna correction
the anteater looking thing is a coatimundi.
17th March 2008

Truly Stunning
And the waterfall is nice too!
17th March 2008

WWWWWWWAAAAAAAAWWWWW
LOOKS LIKE YOUR HAVING FUN GIRL.........xxxxx
18th March 2008

amazing Argentina !!
Well .. what i can say this is the best thing that you can do Bethany !!! I am really very very happy because you are enjoying my beautiful country sooooo much. Did you try "mate " by any chance ??? hahahahahah!!! To everybody who wants to know the soil it's red in that area . Its because the soil has lots of iron plus the humidity there is corrosion every where. Please don't forget to go to "RUINAS jESUITAS "( Antique place from the colony century) And Also ... .. Do you know that the movie THE MISSION ( Old movie with Robert De Niro and Jeremy Irons) was filmed in the Cataratas ??? HAPPY BIRTHDAY !!! i AM TURNING 40 TH THE NEXT MONTH !!!

Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 15; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0571s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb