IS ANYBODY OUT THERE?


Advertisement
Uruguay's flag
South America » Uruguay » East » Piriapolis
January 23rd 2010
Published: June 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: -34.8713, -55.2678

We started this blog to share our adventures with family and friends since we wouldn't have a phone for the 3 months we're in South America. We were hoping it would be a way for us to communicate with the people we love, but we can't tell if anyone's reading it because we've had so few comments--that's the only way we know if there's anyone on the other end, so to speak. I don't know--maybe it's hard to leave messages, too.

Anyway, we're finding it's a lot of work to do this and need to know if you're there. So…if you're out there and you're reading this, please know we long to hear from you.

And THANK YOU THANK YOU to those of you who have figured it out. We love your notes!But on to our day away:

An early bus took us the hour and a half to a picture perfect beach town called Piriapolis, just south of much more famous and crowded Punta del Este. But for that very reason, we chose Piriapolis for our day trip out of dirty Montevideo.
Everything in Montevideo is either worn out, run down, or broken. Everything in this neighborhood anyway, so we were ready to get outta Dodge.

Piriapolis is a jewel at the mouth of the Rio de la Plata and we enjoyed laying on the beach, sampling the restaurants and even a little swimming. Friends told us it's less crowded than Punta del Este, but I tell you! There were THOUSANDS of people on the beach. Literally thousands.

I'll try to tell a little more with each photo.


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Watching The RunnersWatching The Runners
Watching The Runners

There was a race down the main street later in the evening and people were lined up on both sides to watch.


25th January 2010

I check them when I can. Thanks for the updates they are nice. Could you tell dad to get off his butt and contribute too? Kathleen
25th January 2010

I'll be happy to do that!!! cheers, us
25th January 2010

Well, you guys know I'm reading them. Linda is too although she has to wait until she can get onto her big computer as it's hard to see on her iPod touch screen. We love keeping up with you - it is giving us more fodder for giving you grief
when you get back home LOL! I am going to try an share the tango show entry to my friends in DC who are absolutely tango-mad! Wonderful shots.Went to Snappy's class on tying flies - excellent. I can't keep up the pace with Rick's production schedule though. That's about all the news from Kalispell.
25th January 2010

I know! You are the BEST at leaving comments. You Rock!! Let me know how your friends like the Tango shots. It was an awesome show, really.
26th January 2010

I read!! sometimes its from my smart phone and too hard to leave comments but keep them coming! Love all the pictures!! I feel like I've been there for some reason...
26th January 2010

Thank you, thank you!
26th January 2010

The beach looked fun! We are sitting in 6 inches of snow and 19 degrees. We are working very slowly on the basement. I finished grouting both bathroom floors this morning.
28th January 2010

the weather even got colder! now it's -5! the pictures at least make me feel a little warmer!
29th January 2010

They tell us it gets cold here in the winter though--all the way down to 75.
6th March 2010

I finally figured it out and have gone through your entire trip to this point. Thank you for taking the time to share it with your friends and family. For me, it has been a getting to know you experience. Stay well.
6th March 2010

Thanks Jerry. Glad to have you aboard.

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb