Come with me if you want to eat!


Advertisement
Published: December 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The southern most capital of the world; Montevideo, Uruguay.

As we continue to venture the streets of Montevideo, we were in a hunt for some tasty seafood since the city itself is rightly situated in the coast. But then again, Uruguayan's aren't known for their love of seafood but of a different type of protein. Yup, its your good old fashioned "MEAT". Besides their passion for immense protein, Uruguayan's are your happy, laid back, nice and receptive people that enjoys the balance of work and life. Socializing is a big part of life and became more evident to us as we observe their drinking fest on local restaurants; huddled with groups of friends/acquiantances every noon.

Knowing that our endeavours in search of seafood will not pan out. We decided to accept the inevitabe and give in to the Uruguayan lifestyle (it wasn't difficult choice). We stumbled upon a few travellers at the hostel and was recommended to check out "Mercado del Puerto" (english "Port Market"; I hope my spanish is correct). The place is a well known BBQ spot that is steep in the pocket but a must for travellers. We've heard comments from people how insane BBQ racks are piled up reminscing a daily feast. I was truly skeptical at first but as we got in there; it was one rumor/gossip that has a huge backing to it.

Piles and piles of different varieties of protein from chicken, pork, beef were scattered around multiple BBQ grills. It was like a gang of butchers came into town and killed all wildlife that they crossed paths with, while dumping everything that seem edible in BBQ grills. Till now, I've never seen great amounts of protein in my life. Granted I had my fare share of BBQ joints but this surpasses everything that I've came across with. Just looking at the gi-normous amount of food in front of us is making me full.

We gathered all our fears hoping that our hearts can endure this beating and tried their steaks, ribs and sausages. I borrowed a line from the movie "Have you met the Morgans" and told my better half. With every bite "I can literally feel my arteries closing". Having heart difficulties in the middle of a trip isn't what I envisioned and wouldn't be a good way to go. We continued to plow this immense feast and conquered this bohemoth in 45 minutes. After which, we decided to go for long walks off the coasts and vowed never to eat "MEAT" again (at least for the next 3-4 days). I was just happy I survived that trip without additional health risk. I hope I'm still insurable. =0.

One thing I do know about Uruguayans. Soccer is religion, Meat and Pasta is a must. Otherwise its war!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb