tomorrow Uruguay


Advertisement
Published: January 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

January 24th, 2006, second day of 3 at sea, south along the coast of Uruguay,
day 20 of our cruise, over 6000 nautical miles from Ft. Lauderdale.
At Montevideo( means: see a mountain) we will be at latitude 35 degrees south, same as our South/North Carolina, temperature on deck this morning was in the high 70s.
The days are getting longer, sunset is 2 hours later than at the Amazone.
I wonder how long the days will get at our most southerly point!

Sea days are soooo… busy.
Today, Terry will attend a lecture by Terry Hughes the producer of TV shows in Britain and US and participant in the production of Monty Python- not my cup of tea.
I will be busy being creative: watercolour class and creative writing. Here is my haiku homework:
Out there he smokes
Angry and alone she fumes
Is there a future?

Work at home always
Then cruising with the sun
Life ephemeral

as He puffs away
frustrated She prays and prays
Their future unknown


During the listen type lectures, one of which I am late for…

… I knit for Gift of Yarn: Holland America gives us yarn and knitting needles or crochets and we produce a scarf or a blanket and the pieces will be dropped off at a needy destination down the line.

I attended my first watercolour class this afternoon and my table mates were amazed at how much fun I was having. I produced 2 pictures which are included. The theme was monochromatic; I did not get it the first time!

Sea is rough today: 7.5 ft to 12 ft waves and swells; barely noticeable in the ship. The big box ships hold more people but are flat bottomed and not as smooth as this one which is V shaped and very comfortable.

5 pm, time to change and walk another 2 miles.
Ttys, love to all



Advertisement



Tot: 0.418s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0714s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb