Hostels, Clubs, Parks, Chicken, and Randoms


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru
March 5th 2011
Published: March 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today was our first morning waking up in the new room. While it was much breezier and a lot easier sleeping, the construction project across the street put a serious damper on my sleeping since they started sawing cement and wood at like 7am. Not to mention that fact that although the window was a help considering it let in more air, it also let in the sun, the hot bright sun. So needless to say I was up early like 9am and that was about five hours of sleep so I wasn’t all that happy. I also didn’t feel that well because I smoked a bunch of cigarettes the night before and also drank a bunch of beer. I was probably a little dehydrated and also the pizza we ate the night before was doing me wrong. I am sure you can understand what I mean. I figured that it would be best to get up and moving and maybe that would help. Brett and I took our dirty clothes to the lavandaria and had them washed, it cost me 9 soles for 3 kilos of clothes. The bag smelled so knar knar it wasn’t even funny. Afterwards we went and got a coffee and sat for a while on a quiet street out of the sun but it was still very hot. The coffee was good and we just sat and talked, sometimes in silence. Afterwards we came back to the hostel and I lay in bed for aw hours trying to regain my composure. Mayra messaged me and wanted to meet up around 1500 so I decided I would shower for the occasion hahah. I went to the Starbucks to meet her and she wasn’t there right away. In fact I waited an hour for her. During that time that I was waiting and sitting on the bench, a chica came up to me and asked me what time it was and sat down next to me. She asked me where I was from because I was wearing my swimsuit and sandals and a hat and sunglasses, not exactly the most Peruvian getup hahaha. Anyways she sold telephones and monthly cell phone packages but she wasn’t pushy about it like so many other people here who try to sell you something or get you to come to their establishment, more so she wanted to just talk. She was 20 years old and spoke a little English but we conversed a lot in Spanish too. She wanted to know about my life and my previous job and basically just all about me. Her name was Yasmine, she was very pretty and extremely nice. I told her that I had to pick up my laundry in a little while and she flat out said that she would like to see me in my boxers and nothing else. Haha how’s that for honesty. She asked me a lot how to say things in English and since I had been waiting so long for Mayra she was clowning on me saying that I had my heart broke and this chick was standing me up. She took down my email address and said she would find me on Facebook. She was finishing work and she asked me to wait for her on the bench while she went to her office and she would come back and we could grab a drink. I was going to do it, but then Mayra walked up and I had to go haha. Can’t sacrifice a sure thing for something unsure. Mayra was with her friend Claudia from the previous night and we all went and sat in the park for a long time talked and chilled out on the grass in the shade. It was great, I love the fact that I can hang out with these Peruvian girls and speak Spanish to them and not seem like a goddamn gringo too much. I mean clearly ii am always gringo but hey what can I do. I yam what I yam. Mayra was very affectionate at the park and I enjoyed it, I always get the craziest looks from these indigenous Peruvians when this girl kisses up on me…I think it’s great. Haha. She told me that she is writing me a song. She writes rhymes and sings them too. I told her she and AJ would get along. She is one hell of a woman, I haven’t ever had a girl write me a song before that is for sure and honestly I have never met a girl like here before. I am not falling in love, DREW!! But it’s just very cool and refreshing to meet someone who has a different viewpoint on life than the American viewpoint. It’s for sure totally different and I dig it. I can’t wait to see what the song says, she is emailing me now. After the park we walked down to the beach and were going to watch the sunset but it was a little ways off so we decided to go get my laundry and wait for Brett to get back from the gym (which I didn’t go to because I felt so crappy today) and then we were all going to go to the Parque de Luz y Agua, a place where there are water and light shows, Thursday thru Sunday and it is supposed to be pretty cool. We were waiting here at the hostel for Brett to get back just having a few beers and some chips and then Claudia got a call from her mother who needed her to come home right away. So Mayra had to walk her home since no girls should be walking alone here after dark. I was sad our plan didn’t work out but what can you. I told Mayra to remember that tomorrow was my last day and we had to hang out. She said she knew and we would. So now I am here at the hostel typing this and we are having a Cusquena, como cada noche, and deciding where to go get drunk tonight hahahaha. We can’t go out tomorrow because we fly to Cusco at 10 on Sunday and it should be interesting because I have never taken a flight in country in a place like this, we’ll see what it’s all about haha. Anyway I will write later on tonight. Soooooo…..it was a fairly interesting night to say the least. We ended up going out to dinner with the Argentinian guy named German at our hostel and this Canadian girl named Kaitlin, I think was her name. We went to dinner at a café restaurant near Parque Kennedy and we dined on chicken which was delicious and salad and some other skewered meats. It was probably the best meal I have had so far and only cost about 7 bucks US for all of it including the beer. After dinner we went to a hostel close by that I forget the name to, but it was bumping there was some kind of costume party there and everyone was super hammered. German ended up knowing one of the guys there that he had met in Cusco and this guy’s name was Abel and he was from Holland. He had been travelling with his smoking hot girlfriend from Vancouver Canada all the way down to Lima Peru. He was a really cool guy and actually ended up having some weed which he and I smoked a little of on the rooftop bar. It was a very cool time, they were playing house music and we were just partying. There was a game there called “Frog” in which you have to toss coins into some slots and they are all worth different point amounts and the person who gets the most wins. After we played that game for a while and chilled there for a bit, there were tons of Peruanas who looked really young, we left and went to a club down the street that seemed pretty cool, it was called THE END BAR. It was pretty clubbed out but was a good time for sure. There were tons of Peruanas in there that just loved us white boys. I was making out with this girl named Ingrid all night, she gave me all her info and wants to meet up tomorrow however there is no way in hell I would stand up Mayra to hang out with this girl, Mayra is easily a 12 and this girl maybe an 9. I know that turning down a 9 is akin to burning a thousand dollars but trust me when I say that she is worth it. Anyways we were drinking all night at the club Brett and I were dancing and German and Kaitlin went back to the hostel after a while and I am pretty sure they got it on but no guarantees till tomorrow. When it was time to leave I said goodbye to Ingrid and there were these HUGE Danish guys there that looked simply mean and Ingrid was way into me because I speak Spanish and well, I’m me, and so she was kind of all up on me and this guy comes up to me and puts his huge hand on my chest and says flat out that if I don’t stop talking to this girl he is going to break both my legs. He tells me this three times after I tell him that I am leaving. Ingrid is freaking out wanting to know what he said so I told him and she proceeded to kiss me again!!! Joder. Anyways Brett and I got out of there no worse for the wear and no I am going to bed yet again at 4 am which seems to be pretty standard around here these days. Ha. Anyways, much love and well wishes to everyone out there reading this. I hope that you are finding the contentment in life that you deserve. Hasta pronto.

Advertisement



6th March 2011

tomorrow
I hope you get a good nights sleep. You will need to be wide awake when your flight leaves. Hopefully they have parachutes. Stay hydrated. Take Care. lol.

Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0205s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb