Chevere


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru
March 4th 2011
Published: March 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I just typed the date and almost forgot what day it was. How great is that? I don’t have a thing to do except see sights, workout, go to the bar, read, and meet people. Oh ya, and sleep late. I love that part hahah. So today was kind of a crazy day. We stayed up super late last night as you can probably tell by my previous entry, and I was fairly hung over this morning. Brett was worse than I was though. He stayed up later. So I was digging through my papers and whatnot and trying to figure out about our trip to Cusco on Sunday and I looked at my confirmation for the hostel we are at now and realized that I only booked our room for five nights and not seven like I should have. So I went to talk to the folks at the hostel and they said that someone had our room reserved for tonight however they had beds upstairs in a shared room with 8 beds. I decided that it was best to take the beds they had since it meant we didn’t need to move our stuff and we could stay in this same place that we know and like. A huge plus was that this room upstairs had a huge open window with a breeze!! No more musty as hostel room. Thank Christ. So as I was dealing with all this Brett was out getting a coffee and when he returned I told him about the situation. We agreed that it wasn’t a big deal and we have to roll with the punches of course. So after we moved out stuff up to the new room, we decided to go see a sight here in Lima. First of all I want everyone to know exactly how dirty I was today before I showered. It had been about three days since I had a shower and my feet were dirty as hell from the HuacaPullcana and also sweating all day because it’s so fucking hot here all the time. (Just a little aside, it doesn’t rain here. They consider Lima the desert and we were talking to some people and they said it hadn’t rained since October!! Can you believe that? Because it doesn’t rain the streets are slick with dirt and grime that just gets baked into the sidewalks, it’s easy to slip and fall when you don’t realize you’re walking on a film of dirt) I was probably the dirtiest guy at the hostel and since we were going to the city center and probably have to take a dodgy taxi there, I decided that I would wait to shower. Anyways…….we took a very shady cab down to the center of lima, didn’t have a radio, the seats had duct tape all over them and it was a pretty crazy ride, I am pretty sure this guy drove 75mph the whole time and let me tell you I didn’t feel that these streets warranted a speed like that hahahah. Anyways we got to where we were going in record time, the Catedral de San Francisco de Assisi. It was clearly an old place, you could tell when you approached it and when you entered you could smell the hundreds of years of events and people long past. We bought our tickets for the tour and it commenced momentarily. As we waited for the tour to begin I started to feel really bad like I was going to pass out from being so goddamn hot and hung over. I fought through it though and the tour started. The church was built in 1545 and it had a lot of history. We weren’t allowed to take pictures with I thought was bullshit but whatever it was still pretty cool. As Brett and I walked through the Cathedral we commented on the fact there was “a lot of Christ” and how Rick Merritt would really appreciate the amount of Christ there was. I love you Rick. This is a shout out to you and you’re soon to be daughter Taliana. I am going to be the best Uncle ever. Anyways, the coolest part of this trip was the catacombs underneath the cathedral. It was surreal down there, musty and dark and lined with bones and skeletons of all kinds. There were so many that honestly I was caught off guard because there were hundreds if not thousands of femurs, pelvises, skulls etc. all of the doorways in the catacombs were super small and I had to duck the whole time. At one point I was following Brett and since he is short he could walk through the doorways and I wasn’t paying attention because I was so hung over and smacked my head on the stone. It sucked so bad, and still hurts like a bitch. Especially since I am still sunburned and it just ripped into my forehead. Oh well though. After the cathedral we got a couple waters and walked down from the Placa de Armas towards the Placa San Martin to catch a cab. We haggled with a few cab drivers (not sure if I told you or not but you negotiate a price before you get in the cab here, there is no set rate) and some of these guys were trying to rip us off but I told them to fuck off and we finally found a guy who could help us out and took us back to Miraflores. We were pretty tired so I lay down and napped for a few hours. When I woke up from my nap Brett and I went for a run along the park that lines the ocean and tonight was the first very clear night we have had and the sunset was unreal. Of course we didn’t have our cameras to document it because we were running but I will not forget it. Seeing the sun set over the mountains and the Pacific Ocean as a backdrop was something I won’t soon forget. We ran for about a half hour and I was just still so dirty and hadn’t showered yet hahahah….afterwards we came back to the hostel and I had a banana and then we went to meet up with Mayra and her two friends from here. We met at a pizza place and had some dinner and a few beers; afterwards we went to a few discotecas. Mayra’s friend Claudia spoke English really well and she was a very cool chick. She is 20 and lives here in Miraflores with her family. We were trying to convince her to come to America and see how great it is. This night was very fun. The first place we went reminded me of a strip club because there were laser lights and smoke machines and just music straight bumping and we were the only people in the place hahah drinking and smoking cigarettes, well the girls were I tried to stay away but as you’ll see I didn’t do so well with the not smoking thing. We had a couple Cusquenas and then went to another club which was pretty cool but small. We did some dancing and drinking there and chatted about many different things. I think it’s great that we can communicate with these girls and learn about their lives considering they are our age and like a lot of the same stuff they just live in Peru. After this bar we went back to the pseudo strip club and it was packed by this point. Weed is legal here, thought I haven’t tried to get any, and people just freely smoke it in the clubs, a lot of that was going on when we came back to the pseudo strip club and we danced and drank a little more until we finally went to another bar that was more chill. We had a few beers and I talked to Mayra and her friends about a lot of things. Mayra and I had a small heart to heart and she told me that she knows I will have other women but it’s about what I want in the end, not what I have along the way. I thought that was pretty profound and a very cool thing to say. We said our goodbyes since it was pretty late and Brett and I were determined not to stay up so fucking late tonight and feel shitty tomorrow. Well we accomplished the not getting too drunk part however I am still awake and it’s almost 4am so I’m not sure how well that worked out. Tomorrow we are going to Crossfit Lima and then to the light and water show with Mayra and her friends in Central Lima, it should be a good time. With that I will sign off and say that I still love you all (Shelby that one is for you) and I hope you all continue to comment on my writings and give me shit when you feel it’s necessary and compliments are also always welcome. Chevere. (It means cool here and all the surfer bro dudes like the ones in my pics say ya ya ya muy chevre!!) Anyways, Chevere.
Ps. I am not putting any pics up tonight because it’s a lot of work and I am tired and want to sleep. I will post some pics ASAP so read for now and enjoy and you’ll have some visual evidence shortly. Chevere.



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



4th March 2011

chevere
muy bien Chevere! muy bien!
9th March 2011

Love my shout out! Love you two! Glad you're having a good time! xo from AMERICA ~*~Shelby
9th March 2011

LOVE my shout out! Love you both! Glad you're having a great time. xo FROM AMERICA

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0635s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb