ANDEAN EXPLORER TO PUNO, PERU - DAY 9 AND 10


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Puno » Puno
November 17th 2013
Published: November 17th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I started day 9 in Cusco, leaving the beautiful Hotel Monasterio early to arrive at the train station in time to board the Andean Explorer train for a ten hour journey to Puno along the shores of Lake Titicaca. The train is built in the 1920's style and comfortably furnished with high-back chairs and large windows for viewing the impressive Andean scenery. There is an observation car in the back to truly reveal the tall mountains, rivers and farmland. The train made a short stop at remote Andean outpost at 14,173 feet elevation. We had a three course lunch on the train served at our tables by a very efficient crew. The train ride was for about 220 miles to get to Puno, a city of 100,000 at an elevation of 12,500 feet. It was dark when we arrived, so the view of Lake Titicaca from my room in the Hotel Libertador was not seen until morning. I left my drapes open so I would see the sunrise. My room faced east and I had heard that the sunrise over the lake was beautiful.

Sunrise came about 5:30 am and the colors were great, but clouds hid the sun. Oh well, I was up anyway to start a ride on Lake Titicaca to see some things I've never seen before. Lake Titicaca, the highest navigable Lake in the world at 12,500 feet, lies on the border between Peru and Bolivia. It is large, 116 miles long and averages 39 miles wide. The deepest point is 930 feet and averages 350 feet in depth. Five major rivers and twenty smaller ones feed into the lake. Since much of the water in the rivers come from glaciers, the water is cold. We boarded our boat to take us to two islands in the lake. The first stop was at the fascinating Uros Islands. These man made islands float on the water because they are made from tortora reeds. We got off the boat and learned about the construction and maintenance of the many small islands that serve as the community for the Uros people for hundreds of years. Walking on the island was something like walking on a water bed in places. The residents, in their native dress, demonstrated some of their activities and displayed some of their products for sale. Definitely a unique experience. I continued to Taquille Island, 5 square miles of fertile lands inhabited by about 300 Quechua families who are keeping their ancestral customs alive. The men are devoted to agriculture, fishing and kniting and the women to weaving. Lunch was had on the island.

Back to the hotel to write this blog, but I needed to quench my thirst first. I met a couple from England who wintered in Naples Florida. Small, wonderful world! Tomorrow to La Paz. I think my hotel is at 10,000 feet so I will trty to upload my photos from this and my Cusco blog from there. ILYS

Advertisement



Tot: 0.218s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0639s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb