A place to lose yourself, and everything you own...


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Piura » Máncora
February 25th 2007
Published: February 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I dive under the surface, feeling the cool water flow across my closed eyes. The beach is crowded, as Mancora often is, but I have found a quiter place where I have space to relax in the waves. I keep track of my bags, as I´ve left them alone on the sand, away from the crowds and opportunistic eyes. There are a few people about so I don´t think it strange to see two young men approaching.
We introduce ourselves and struggle through a Spanish conversation. I´m still mindful of my bags on the sand and keep an eye on them between the pounding of the waves. The two guys, around 18 years old and I agree to meet later for a drink. We say goodbye and they jog off down the beach. I wade about for a few minutes before I stop and look down the beach. The boys are nowhere to be seen. They were moving quickly.

I get out of the water and look to my bags. I can still see my towel and rucksack that holds my camera. But I can´t see my backpack. My heart lurches and begins to race. I run to my bags and my world folds in on itself. The bag is gone. The sky is spinning, noises suddenly become distant, I gasp for air. The bag had everything: passport, money, iPod (my music!), reading glasses, swiss army knife, books, journals...I feel sick. I run from person to person, ranting about losing everything. Of course, nobody saw a thing. My travelling essentials have vanished in to the back neighbourhoods of Mancora.

I spend the day filing police reports. They live up to their pitiful reputation, with their only source of assisstance coming in advising me to find the two boys and ´drag them in here.´ Really helpful. I walk the streets in a daze, cursing my stupidity and trying to calm the rage that boils within. I look up at a billboard on the side of the road, blazened with a tanned couple smiling for the camera, surrounded by blue water and a blazing sun.

¨Welcome to Mancora,¨the sign proudly reads.

¨Thanks,¨I laugh wryly, and forge on, running through the back streets with a blind hope of actually recovering something from this experience.

This is most certainly a lesson learnt. I was scammed, sure, but I was stupid. ´Don´t trust anyone´is unfortunately one of the first laws of travel and I naively did just that. Now, the only course of action is to move on, away from this terrible day and in to the next part of the journey, where hopefully I will travel with greater awareness and reality.



Advertisement



5th March 2007

Two Hands
Haven't you seen Two Hands with Heath Ledger? It teaches us an important lesson, never leave your valuables on the beach. That's bad luck mate. I hope you have got it all sorted by now. Love the site - great pictures and captions. Glad to see you haven't lost your sense of humour as well! Take care and I look forward to reading on with interest.

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0339s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1017.8kb