The Mighty Galapagos


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » Galápagos
February 15th 2007
Published: February 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The sound of waves are rolling around in my head. The air in the tent is thick and warm and I grapple with sleep. The lure of early morning waves pull me out of the tent and in to the day. Stepping out, my toes hit sand and I breathe in the salty air. The rising sun casts warm, red light that dances across the ocean.
Nearby, a charcoal black marine iguana pauses on the white sand to consider this new creature on its´shores. It bucks its´head once, then twice, snorts sea water out of its´nostrils and resumes the slow trek across the beach. Its´snake-like tail follows, carving a small ravine in the sand.
I wade in to the warm water, watching for manta and sting rays that cruise the sandy floor. A curious sea lion breaks from lazily lolling about and ventures over. She glides through the waves, her sleek body slicing through the water. I dive with her, imitating the graceful movements she effortlessly displays. Tiring of my slow and cumbersome water agility, she darts off, oblivious that in her wake she leaves an unforgettable experience.
Emerging from my salty shower, I watch the numerous water birds: the flamingoes, pelicans, boobies, frigates and the colourful crabs that grace these pristine coastlines.
I am welcomed back to the hostal by the smell of pancakes, cooked by one of our six strong travelling troop. Over sweet pancakes and hot coffee, we talk of days passed; of swimming with marine turtles and penguins, meeting 250kg, 150 year-old giant tortoises and swimming in underwater caves. And we talk of days to come; meeting the incredible wildlife, birds and marine animals that habitat these wild and magical Galapagos Islands, of sharing our adventures with fellow travellers from all pockets of the globe and the road ahead, beautiful and free.

To Robin and Damian, thanks for sharing our Galapagos adventure. It is the people you meet along the way, just as much as the places, the cultures and the tales, that leave lasting memories.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



20th February 2007

Hey Dale!!! its great to hear from you! By the time you get this i am sure you will be enjoying Peru. Anyway i will be looking forward to reading your blogs! enjoy everymoment!
20th February 2007

A Greater Shade of Green
Howdy my young, but not so unaware son. Love your travel space. Great to see photos of you, Gab and some of what you are seeing. I am so, so envious of the trip to the Galapagos. Hopefully one day I will get there too. You know how much I love seeing animals/birds etc... would be my Heaven. Photos/captions/words are all great.Keep it up. Love you heaps and heaps. mumxx

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0685s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb