It's the little things..


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima
August 28th 2014
Published: August 28th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Every time that I hop back onto this little blog, the area and opportunity seem to grow on me. Today, we were just going on our daily run, and we ended up finding ourselves in the middle of a high school phy ed class, playing some soccer. Of course, we got torched and made the stars and the stripes look bad, but it was nice just to do something other than run for exercise. It seemed like the students were able to enjoy playing with us too. I could mean that they enjoyed dancing all around us on the field, because that was true too, but I meant that it seemed just like a pick up game with a bunch of friends. Yeah, this place might be well-known around Lima as run-down and maybe not so high-end, but its got some character and a friendly feel to it after a while.

I guess that what I am trying to say is, after the first week, it seemed like the forecast was pretty gloomy for the next 10 months, figuratively, not literally, it is going to be 90 in December here, what is it going to be in Wisconsin around that time? 😉 But back to the point, the forecast is only looking partly cloudly, with a chance of occasional sunshine now. Not a home run yet, but it is making it's case. I guess those are enough metaphors for this post.

The sun is starting to peek out too. The past 3 days and we have had about 6 hours of total sunshine. That about triples the amount of sun that I saw in the first 25 days. One thing that has been consistent is the cooking, we are made into human trash cans here. It's not that the food is bad, but there are heaps upon heaps for every meal. It is getting to the point where you have to decide, do I want to return home in 9 months 50 pounds heavier...or do I eat only about half of what is offered. I haven't decided what I want to do yet, I am weighing out my options..awful pun. If you are reading this, keep me updated on what's going on back in the land of the free and home of the brave. I haven't forgotten about you!

Oh yeah, almost forgot to mention, I am slowly transforming my body into a temple of snoozing. After getting about 7 and a half hours of sleep before a day of just watching over the students while they are taking a test, I promptly return to my bed to rack up another 1 and a half hours of snoozing. This causes me to usually start my day around noon. What can I say, the volunteer-teaching spot here has some perks 😉 Adios for a little while folks!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0548s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb