Estoy aquí


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima
August 13th 2006
Published: August 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well, I am here. It is officially my second day here in Lima. I am residing in the district of "Jesús María". It is a safe area, and my family is great. They are very patient, which is really great because I SUCK at Spanish. Ok, perhaps that was a bit harsh, but let's just say that I am humbled on a regular basis. What I want to write about right now is something important to all of us. For all of you who have gone away to college, you will understand. You don't understand how much you love your home until you fly 4,000 miles south of it. I miss my family and my home like crazy. I can not put into proper vernacular. I don't have the words to describe it. Granted, it's awesome learning a new culture and things like that, but in my first few days, I am missing home very much. I am also missing the sound of my mom's voice. The way my dog runs up to me when I arrive home and sits right in front of me, begging me for attention. I miss my friends. I miss my life. Everything is brand new here. I stick out like a sore thumb. I have no idea what I'm doing half the time. Despite the awesome hospitality of my host family, I feel like an outsider. It is quite frustrating to have so much to say in your head, but not have the full abilities to express it. ¡Ay! Even though Anne is probably the only one who has a subscription to my blog, I ask all of you to pray for me. This is a scary thing, and I hurt a lot for my home and my family. I have already grown to appreciate their worth in my first two days. I know things will get easier, but I will always look at my home and family with a bittersweetness. Pray for me because I am in God's hands right now. Adios.

Advertisement



14th August 2006

hang in there big guy
you'll get used to it, the first couple days will be rough, but remember how much you like spanish and how what you're doing is the best and quickest way to learn it. are there any nude beaches? i yearn for you, Dan
14th August 2006

Hang in there!!
Jake I know it is hard at first but it will get better! You just have to hang in there until you figure out the routine. We all miss you a lot and will keep you in our prayers. I will tell them all to subscribe and pray. I love you Jake and so does everyone else! Anne
15th August 2006

I know how you feel.
Jacobo- I am so glad you put this in your blog, because I was the exact same way when I got to Spain for the first good couple days. I was so much in shock of what I had at home, all the luxuries, and all of the wonderful people that I call my friends and family. So many other countries do not have what we do, and we take so many things for granted. This trip will be a great lesson for you in many senses. It is like everyone in the world should be required to go on a trip as such, to realize and appreciate what we have. The good news is, it will all turn around and once you start meeting the amazing people your own age, who are in your same boat, you will be so greatful. The people there (including your host family) will be your family away from home and you will automatically grow so close to them. It is such a great experience and feeling knowing that you have these awesome people from all over the world and so far away from home that you feel could be like your best friends. I can't wait till you get this because it is so cool. Also, the language issue is like a barrier at first, and almost till the end, still will be a bit maybe. But, since you are staying so long, you get to learn soooo much. Just wait till you get back, you will want to speak Spanish all the time and just find someone you can talk to in it. :) I am praying for you and thinking about you and really seriously can say that I felt your pain just a couple months ago. You feel like you are all alone even when you're around people. It will get better, I promise. Love you Jake! Keep in touch, te cuida. Abrazos y besos, Sarah
17th August 2006

You've got balls.
Dear Jake, Sorry about my lack of physical being at your party, I deeply regret it now, you've only been gone days and already my heart longs for you....eh, well anyways, I titled this "you have balls" because you do my friend, the only one with bigger might be the russian clad alex, but you my friend are up there as well. I'll pray that you stay safe (!) from evil, and from parasites (!) I can't imagine what you're experiencing! keep us updated! When you come back you'll be a spanish guru, and you can teach me to salsa. Your best and biggest(inthepants) buddy, Dave
18th August 2006

You can do it.
Hey Jake- Although I have not been overseas away from my parents for more than a week; I do understand what you are feeling. Growing up we had 5 exchange students from germany and ukraine and tajikistan. They would feel at first the same way you do- like your langauge skills are lacking and that they stick out and all they want is to hear their families voices and go home- yet they love to experience the culture. I am so proud of what you are doing because I do not have the courage to do it myself. Of course my spanish is really really bad- :) I will definitley pray for you and hope that you enjoy your experience down there. I cant wait to hear more and see some pictures. Adios Senor! Jenny

Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 69; dbt: 0.0709s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb