More than one month in!


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima
September 17th 2011
Published: September 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Whew what a week I had! First, I'll start off with last weekend. On Friday a couple of us went to Mistura-which is a big food festival where vendors from all over come sell their delicious Peruvian food! It was awesome! I tried tons of interesting dishes including anticuchos (cow heart AHHH!) It wasn't that bad actually, I could only have a bite though because the thought of what I was eating just made me a little nauseous. But it's quite popular here and my SeƱora actually told me I needed to try brain because she loves it! I don't know if that's on my bucket list while I'm here though. But Mistura was awesome and I had plans to go to I went with Renzo and his crew to an awesome place on the beach just about an hour out of Lima. We stayed in some bungalows on the beach, and although it was cold at night, we got lucky and there was sun during the day and we were able to be in our swimming suits! Saturday night we had a BBQ, Peruvian style, which I would have to say consists of more types of meat than you can imagine. I tried a lot of different things, not too sure from which animal everything came, but everything was good! I also tried something that Renzo told me was called "sangre" meaning blood, and I'm still not sure if it was blood sausage or what. Also, I must say I do miss ketchup, they do have it, but it's just not the same. Most people put mayo and a spicy sauce called ahi on their things, but I'm not the biggest fan. It was a lot of fun, but I had to concentrate very intently to understand what Renzo and his friends are saying. They speak very quickly and with slang that I'm still trying to pick up on.

School this week was a little rough, on Wednesday in my Anthropology class I realized that when I was sick the week before and skipped class, I had missed a quiz that wasn't on our syllabus. I may have had a little freak out moment, but luckily my professor let me make it up by just answering a couple of questions orally. It was a little nerve-wracking and I mixed some things up, but I think I did pretty well! Thank goodness for the professors here being way different than in Madison, I never would have been able to make up a quiz a week and a half later! I feel like my literature class keeps piling on the reading, and it takes me 3 times as long to read things here so I have to dedicate a lot of my time to literature. But I have been reading some interesting things!

Tuesday night my computer got an awful virus and I couldn't use it, which stunk because I rely on my computer to find my literature readings online. And I had no idea how to fix my computer because there isn't just a TechStore on our campus and I didn't know where I should bring my computer to fix it. But I asked my senora what to do and she called someone for me. He came Saturday morning at 8 am, which was rough because I had gone out Friday night. Despite being super tired, I was so happy because he fixed my computer and downloaded an antivirus for me and for all of his work (2 hours of work) it cost me 30 soles which is the equivalent of about $13. So if you're having computer troubles I would tell you to come here to get it fixed!

On Saturday morning after the computer guy left, my Senora brought Justin and I to this little farmer's market type thing in our district, it had all organic foods and I tried a couple of things that were delicious! It's every Saturday and I think I'll keep going!

Although I had a bit of a stressful week, I had a pretty good weekend and being able to relax and catch up a bit on reading has been good for me. I also got pooped on by a bird for the first time ever! And that's supposed to be a good omen in Peru so maybe my bad luck will now be behind me!

For some reason I can't upload pictures...hopefully I'll be able to add some next time to spice this thing up!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb