Churín


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru
September 25th 2011
Published: September 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

For my anthropology class, we were assigned to do a group project about something that a different culture does (some sort of ritual, ceremony, custom etc.). Keep in mind I said a group project, and I am the only foreigner in my class... you ask how I found a group since no body wants to work with foreigners? By default, one group only had two people in it so I got put in their group. So our project was about "Virgen de la Merced", the patron of Churín. Churín is a town about 5 hours out of Lima by bus, and they celebrate la Virgen de la Merced Sept. 22 through the 27 with some parties and food and a running of bulls through the streets(which unfortunately we missed because we had to come back Sunday).
We left Friday night in a coach bus (me and my two guy partners who think I can't understand anything they say-which is probably true but STILL). I was so tired, but I'm bad at sleeping in cars, and especially busses that are driving through huge rocky hills. I would fall asleep for small segments of time then wake up and be scared because I couldn't see anything out of the window because it was literally pitch black, but the bus was speeding along taking sharp turns that I know my mom would hate! But finally, at 3am, we arrived to our destination only to be wandering pitch dark streets looking for a hostel that is open. And I'm trying to not be cranky since I don't know these guys I'm with, but man that is hard when you are tired. But, by 4am we found somewhere to stay and it was relatively nice and cheap!
Saturday we woke up, got some breakfast and ventured out into the streets to see what was up. I had no idea what this festival entailed-and honestly, it really entailed nothing more than a band playing music while some people carried a statue of la Virgen de la Merced around. And the people of Churín would cook together on Sunday. I also think I may have been the only gringo in town...which kind of stunk because when we were watching the festival I felt like everyone was staring at me wondering why the heck I was there, but I survived! And it was really cool to see a small town coming together to worship this woman!
Churín is also home to many natural hot springs, and that is usually what people come to the city for. During some free time when we weren't wandering the streets, we went to see some of the hot springs. I didn't go in because I didn't really feel like it, but apparently the minerals in them are good for your health and keep you looking young! They were really pretty though.
On Sunday it was time to return to Lima, and I was not looking forward to a bus ride back, but I almost like travelling in the day better because the landscapes are so different than in the United States that I am mesmerized for basically the whole trip.
I also made friends with a Peruvian! A 6 year old little girl named Grace switched spots with her mom to sit by me (all of the little kids can't get enough of the blond hair). We bonded over her stuffed animal Eeyore (I told her I had a stuffed Eeyore at home and I missed him). And I felt I could talk to her easily because I'm on her level of Spanish speaking-we talked about what we like to do and what kind of food we like. EASY!

This Tuesday night for dinner, my Senora told me that she was having people over for dinner and that the Minister was coming over. I looked at her like she was crazy, because it couldn't be the Prime Minister since I knew Peru has a president. So I asked "The Minister?" and she said, "YES! The Minister!" I was in my usual, sweatpants and t-shirt and asked her if I needed to change, and she said no because he has two daughters and understands you don't have to dress up all the time. So still being confused about just who was coming over for dinner I just went back to my room and didn't know what to expect. When I heard some people come in I peaked into the living room, saw a bunch of people in suits and ties, and made an executive decision to change my clothes ASAP, sweats were not going to cut it, these people looked important. I changed, and once everyone was there (9 people total I don't know all of their positions) Susana introduced Justin and I to the current and former Ministers of Foreign Affairs of Peru (apparently the equivalent of the Secretary of State in the USA). It was quite crazy, and I fumbled over some of my words of course making a fool of myself and blushing, but after introductions all I got to do was listen and try to follow the conversation.
After dinner all of the important and classy adults stayed and chatted, but I was able to go work on my homework. Pretty cool experience I must say! I wish that I knew more about politics though...I can't even keep up in the US let alone Peru...
Midterms are in a week and I'm freaking out a little! AHHH
And still no pictures, I was proactive and emailed someone but they are not being very helpful...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb