Goodbye rainy Quito, hello foggy Lima!


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima
May 16th 2006
Published: May 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

False equator...False equator...False equator...

...damn Frenchies got it wrong!
Well, another day, another country....

I finally got my stuff from my homestay family and shipped out of Quito. I was really quite happy to go, too. The rain was starting to really bug me, and the whole place had taken on quite a menacing feeling, as quite a large number of people at the hostel got mugged during my stay. While I was there, I did however make a quick visit to "El Centro del Mundo", the line of the equator. Did some weird experiments that shows how your sense of balance gets messed up and you lose strength on the equator.

Due to my extended stay there, I decided to skip the rest of Ecuador, and the north of Peru, and head straight down to Lima. 38 hours by coach, but what the hey.

So here I am. And I like it. It´s no Buenos Aires or Rio de Janeiro, but it sure kicks ass out of Quito and Santiago. Last night I was proper drunk for the first time in about 3 months! Oh and it felt gooooood! But doesn´t feel quite so good now....

So, gonna hang around here til after the Champs
Correct equator...Correct equator...Correct equator...

...thanks to GPS
League final, and then I´m trying to decide about the Nasca lines. It´s gonna cost to do it, and I haven´t met anybody who wasn´t disappointed with them, but it´s one of the things I really wanted to see, and I´m sure I´ll always wonder if I don´t go.

Decisions decisions......


Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0355s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1019.1kb