The Celestine Prophecy Begins


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima
April 21st 2006
Published: April 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Lima Peru: April 21 2006: First Day

My flight was early flying into Lima at 10:30pm on the 20th. It was fairly painless, got some good sleep on the plane, and the Japanese couple next to me didn’t speak any english so it was a quiet ride, minus the crying, seat-kicking child sitting behind me.

When I exited the plane I followed the signs leading to Imigrationes. On the way to customs I asked a man who had been on my plane a question about the baggage claim area, and we ended up chatting for a few minutes in line waiting to get our passports stamped. I told him about how I wanted to go to the jungle, la selva, near Pucallpa, and about how I had sold everything a few weeks ago because I felt like I should be coming to Peru for some reason. He reached into his cary-on bag and pulled out a book written in spanish, but I didn’t need to understand Spanish to realize he was holding a book called The Celestine Prophecy. I had just seen one of the first showings of the new movie which is about the The Celestine Prophecy in Portland just before I left for Peru.

If the movie comes to your area you must see it. The Celestine Prophecy is about a guy who goes to Peru and has an incredible experience of awakening into a new reality- where synchronicity and coincidences are actually part of a process of becoming more aware.

Fernando gave me his number if I ever needed anything while in Peru, and he was on his way. I found a driver holding a sign with my name on it who was waiting for me from Home Peru, a hotel in Lima. We waited for two other passengers before loading up into a small black car and driving through the dark deserted streets of Lima. 30 minutes later I was safely asleep in my room dreaming of the adventure ahead.



Advertisement



21st April 2006

Hi down there !
What's it like looking up at different constellations than the ones you saw up here ? I read "The Celestine Prophecy" many years ago. We have our own purposes on this earth and do attract to ourselves depending on who and what we are. You ought to write your own book someday, but I guess we will be reading it through your journals as time goes on. Look up, laugh and live ! Hugs, Grandma
21st April 2006

A thought for today
Each of us has our own being, and our own way-- to live, to celebrate, to sing, and to dance in the ecstasy of life.
21st April 2006

Mucha Suerte
Ojala que el viaje en el autobus sea agreable. Buen viaje y que te cuide el elfante blanco y los angelitos. :) besos y abrazos.
21st April 2006

How exciting!!!
Hi Joel, We so happy to hear you arrived safe and sound! Take care! Bart and Gayle
22nd April 2006

my friend
hello brave soul - i'm glad you made it and are getting rest - i had a nice note from irma and i will stay in touch with her - your always in my thoughts and i wish you happy new experiences in your travels. remember what i told you - i love you like a son and will worry about you like a mom !!!
22nd April 2006

Your arrival
I'm glad you made it safe and sound! So far, it looks like things are going the way they should. You're in our thoughts and prayers. We love you!
23rd April 2006

Peru
Isn't it nice when synchronicity makes like a neon sign blazing the trail and saying this way. Don't lose the name for later. Are you going to journal? Your own book might be good after you do your work. Mari
27th April 2006

How is the Jungle?
Joel, happy to hear you are heading out to a new and exciting experience. Look forward to your commentary and the thrill of vicarious travel. Enjoy!
14th August 2006

compounding
Joel I am glad to know your good I miss you brother!
14th August 2006

hello
Soon to follow joel!

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0485s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb