Loving Lima


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima » Miraflores
July 25th 2009
Published: July 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Lima airport after a turbulent decent from the heights of Quito and was met by a Socio Adventures rep who drove me to my hotel which was in a picturesque coastal area of the city called Miraflores. By the time I had checked myself in and sorted myself out it was pushing 10pm so there was only really one thing on my mind... "Where can I eat?!"

I explored the surrounding area and found a late-night shopping centre, literally hanging from a cliff-top, with restaurants by the dozen and a cheeky wee cinema. After some traditional Peruvian delicacies I spent the rest of my evening practising Spanish... as I watched the new Harry Potter film with Spanish subtitles.

My one full day in Lima was full of surprises... I found a quiet wee spot to do some reading in a park over-looking the Pacific Ocean. As I glanced up from my book I spotted a lady who looked a lot like my Auntie Jean not 10 metres away... since there was a man with her who looked a lot like my Uncle Steve, I chose to believe my eyes and there was much shock and embracing! They introduced me to their church team who had arrived in Lima the previous night and were only there for one day before catching a flight the next morning... like myself. What are the chances?!

They treated me to lunch and an open-top bus tour of the Lima which is full of pretty parks, attractive buildings and very friendly people. With the Peruvian Independence Day only 4 days away almost every building was flying the Peruvian flag! After haggling in Spanish for a couple of T-shirts and a zippy top in the city centre market, I said a fond farewell to my aunt and uncle and treated myself to an expensive ceviche and Cristal with the money I´d saved... and a bit more!

With a 4am start awaiting me on Saturday morning I had an earlish night and dreamt of all things red, white and Peruvian. Sweet dreams!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



30th July 2009

Re-connecting with Ricardo
Sorry to have been so long off your radar but ...... the reasons would bore you! This also has to be a hasty note as in middle of defrosting and cleaning the freezer before lunch, after which someone is arriving for the afternoon. Spoke briefly to your Mum at Heathrow airport about 1/2hr ago, on their way to Norway. Sounded like she was sleepflying but apart from that, all was well. SO So So enjoyed your accounts and the photos and rejoicing in how the Lord is going before you! Will continue to pray for you, AND your dear Mumand Dad in all your travellings. Loads of love AKT xxxx
1st August 2009

Lima.....
Hey Miraflores? Pelucón! Not all (or even most) of Lima is like Miraflares, but it is lovely, especially the parks. It really is about time you left off the beer and got back to work don´t you think? Looking forward the the next chapter....
8th August 2009

Well,well!
Believe it or not Dad and I have only read this Blog report tonight. I think we must have missed it previously coz we read the Safe in Cajamarca one before we went to Norway. Of course, we knew some of things from emails and phone calls but it is great to see the photo of you with Auntie Jean and Uncle Steve. I think they are still in Peru. I like your zippy Peru jacket and all the other photos are great too. Fancy there being a hanging shopping centre. What is ceviche? Not sure what Dad thinks of the beer!! - he did one of 'those' laughs!! I imagine it will be refreshing in the heat. Shame the Independence Day celebrations were cancelled after all their hard work with the decorations. Looking forward to next update, if you have the time this weekend. We are so glad you are feeling a lot better. We are praying for you loads. All our love, Mum and Dad.xx

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0521s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb