Tres dias en Quito


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
July 23rd 2009
Published: July 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Having settled into my accomodation, which was ideally located between the Old and New Town areas of Quito, I ventured into the unknown, alone, with nothing more than a packed lunch and a handful of Spanish phrases! These served me well enough though as I ended up playing football in the park with, I kid you not, Pablo and Claudio! At this altitude, nearly 3000m, 30 minutes was as long as I could manage and although I chatted in Spanish with my new amigos for a short time afterwards, I was once again struck by the wonderful, universal language... that is football!

On Tuesday I went with the 3 Irish girls in my dorm to the Teleferique - a cable car that took us to 4,100m above sea level, where we had a wonderful view of Quito and the Valley of Volcanos. It was so cold and tiring to walk even short distances but so worth it for the views... some of which reminded me of home.

In the afternoon we set off for Mitad del Mundo - the middle of the world - 1 hour and 3 bus journeys later we arrived at the monument which supposedly marks the line of the Equator. Having visited the northern hemisphere, in a somewhat underwhelming fashion, we returned to Quito by taxi!

I spent the day on Wednesday exploring one of the city´s largest parks, Parque Itchimbia. The views over the city were once again spectacular. After a wee snooze and an amusing conversation with some local schoolchildren who were out for a school trip, I climbed what felt like the neverending steps of the Bascilica and discovered the Old Town with its Plazas and the oldest street in Quito.

Before catching my flight to Lima this evening I will visit the New Town for lunch and chill out in Parque La Carolina. I´ve really enjoyed my short stay in Quito, a seemingly huge city but with less than 2 million inhabitants. With its many parks, wonderful views and many friendly people it was a perfect place for me to come and relax before starting work in Peru next week.




Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



23rd July 2009

Great to read your own personal blog
Was about to sleep walk to bed and thought I could JUST keep my eyes open long enough to peak at your blog. So here I am, blaming you for now being wide awake, having been so entertained by your stories, adventures and pics!! Certainly a great motivator to keep thinking of you and, more importantly, to pray for the Lord's continued blessing every step (and flight) of the way. I have an early start tomorrow so must, as John would say, " be single eyed"! Night, night and love - AKT xx
24th July 2009

Great pics!
Hi Rich, Great to hear your news. You have taken some lovely pictures looks like quite an amazing place! Have fun and take care, lots of love Hil xx
24th July 2009

Hi Ricardo
Hi there Good to hear you're doing well and still practising your Spanish ! And some amazing pictures. Quito sounds fabulous. I'm just back from a couple of days with my daughters and their families in Staffordshire. Catching up before my older girl goes of for 5 weeks to Canada with her husband and their boys. They've persuaded me to join them for 2 weeks of that while they tour the Rockies area in a camper van so a summer of adventure for me too. Hope all goes well with the next stage of your trip. Did you know that Lorna's mum died on Wednesday? I'm going to the funeral tomorrow. It's just good that Lorna got home in time. God bless. Wendy
25th July 2009

Quito
Seems to be an amazing city - pleased to hear that you are communicating well. I am quite envious of your views of teh volcanas and visit to the equator. By now you will be in Peru and I will be back at QP in teh morning - the world is such a small place!! Looking forward to more news Dios te Bendiga Lorna
27th July 2009

Tres dias en Quito
Hi, Richie-boy.I keep looking at your Blog as I enjoy the photos so much, and later on today I think I will re-read your reports to refresh my memory! They are entertaining,interesting and amusing anyway. Looking forward to your next update. Praying for you very muuc as always. aml,m.xx and Dad too.xx
29th July 2009

Where are you?
Hi Rich, Hope the lack of update means you are having such a lot of fun there is no time to tell us about it! Our house is still soooooo quiet without you! Look forward to the next pics. The kids were thinking about you when we went to Cuenca at the weekend cos we found some great parks to climb and hair around. Take care. Love from Teambutchers

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb